Author Topic: MinGW: No disk in drive  (Read 14514 times)

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
MinGW: No disk in drive
« on: May 18, 2014, 06:50:30 pm »
When I open Code::Blocks, a pop up message saying "There's no disk in drive. Insert a disk in drive i:. As the title, I can see mingw32-gcc.exe, which is the MinGW compiler for C.

Problem is, lots of these small windows pop up and I have to close them all.

These are the settings I'm using for the compiler



Note that I made a standalone install of MinGW because I also use it on NetBeans, which BTW, is working fine.

I need both IDE's working, tho. Also, in CLI, when I input gcc.exe -v I get the same error, ironically.



I have the latest MinGW version installed. Any ideas on how to fix this?

System specs: Windows 8.1 Pro x64, all updates installed. Made a clean install last night.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 06:56:55 pm by Icekilla »

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2014, 06:51:36 pm »
EDIT: Doublepost.

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 07:02:59 pm »
I believe the current TDM build of MinGW is patched to fix that.

If that does not work, check if your monitor is able to have its extra ports disabled (e.g. unplug the usb connecting your monitor to your computer, if you have one).

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 07:04:31 pm »
My monitors don't have USB ports.

I'll try the TDM thing. Hang on.

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 07:06:20 pm »
Do I need to uninstall MinGW before installing TDM?

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2014, 07:24:47 pm »
Ok, TDM seems to be working fine on Code::Blocks, but on NetBeans it says there's a make command missing on the TDM files.

What do I do? :(

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2014, 07:34:40 pm »
Ok, TDM seems to be working fine on Code::Blocks, but on NetBeans it says there's a make command missing on the TDM files.

What do I do? :(
Look if the make.exe exists (I guess not) and if not copy mingw32-make.exe to make.exe in the bin-folder.

Offline Icekilla

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2014, 07:40:14 pm »
NetBeans says that it won't take the MinGW make executable file, that it HAS to use the one in MSYS.

Can I just use MinGW for NetBeans and TDM for CodeBlocks? Like, using these settings for NetBeans



Also, when using TDM on CodeBlocks, the debugger is still showing the same "No disk" error even though I specified the settings.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 07:42:28 pm by Icekilla »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2014, 07:40:35 pm »
Ok, TDM seems to be working fine on Code::Blocks, but on NetBeans it says there's a make command missing on the TDM files.

What do I do? :(
Look if the make.exe exists (I guess not) and if not copy mingw32-make.exe to make.exe in the bin-folder.

IIRC, NetBeans needs Cygwin or MSys version of make.exe; it will NOT like MinGW make.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2014, 10:02:18 pm »
IIRC, NetBeans needs Cygwin or MSys version of make.exe; it will NOT like MinGW make.
GNU buildtools are such a bad joke. How come so many people still use this  >:(

This is almost like MPFR which will build only using make 3.8 but not make 4.0 -- of course make 3.8 has broken parallel builds, so if you try to build GCC 4.9 you either need a lot of time or you need 2 versions of make installed...

(that is what I spent last weekend on, btw... on a positive note, it's perfectly possible to build GCC without winpthreads, it didn't complain something was missing)
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: MinGW: No disk in drive
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2014, 10:36:28 pm »
NetBeans says that it won't take the MinGW make executable file, that it HAS to use the one in MSYS.

Can I just use MinGW for NetBeans and TDM for CodeBlocks? Like, using these settings for NetBeans


Also, when using TDM on CodeBlocks, the debugger is still showing the same "No disk" error even though I specified the settings.


Yes, you can have two versions of MinGW GCC installed.
But, neither one can be in a special location.
The locations I think are special are
x:\MinGW
x:\MinGW32

Where "x" is any drive letter.

You still need to configure the debugger tool chain location to use the good compiler.

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org