Author Topic: configure error: boost headers  (Read 13464 times)

Offline AngelGM

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
configure error: boost headers
« on: April 11, 2014, 05:34:27 pm »
Hi all,

I've downloaded codeblocks-13.12 source (working in linux Debian). After the ./bootstrap (successful) I run ./configure --with-contrib-plugins=all with this output (last part):

Code
 ...
checking for GAMIN... yes
checking for FONTCONFIG... yes
checking boost/spirit/include/classic.hpp usability... no
checking boost/spirit/include/classic.hpp presence... no
checking for boost/spirit/include/classic.hpp... no
configure: error: needed boost headers not found or not usable

I do not know what to do now. I've built boost (I guess not in the correct location) but that does not work. If you need something please ask.

Help!

A


Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 07:38:25 pm »
Install the boost headers or do NOT build the plugin that needs it are the two obvious options.

To install boost headers please find a OS support site.

You might also look here for info; no idea if that will help you. http://apt.jenslody.de/

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1563
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 08:39:10 pm »
At least in Wheezy you don't need to compile Boost, it's enough installing package libboost-dev. Then, your missing file should be under /usr/include

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2014, 10:32:14 am »
Boost is only needed by the Nassi-Shneiderman plaugin as far as I remember. So disabling it would help also.
Run the configure-script with --help parameter to see how it is done.

Offline AngelGM

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2014, 10:55:52 am »
Thanks!

Indeed, that is the only plugin that makes use of boost so if I finally cannot link it, I will just compile c::b without it.

Cheers,
A

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2014, 01:30:56 pm »
There's nothing to link, you just need the headers (libboost-dev as posted before).

Offline AngelGM

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: configure error: boost headers
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2014, 02:01:46 pm »
I already have libboost-dev. And I also have built it from source (successfully, as I use it). But c::b cannot find the headers.... This sounds like a problem of the configuration of my machine rather than a general issue.

Thanks,
A