Author Topic: Depedency between projects issue  (Read 7436 times)

Offline GoussLegend

• Single posting newcomer
Depedency between projects issue
« on: September 28, 2014, 07:33:00 am »
Hi,

I am new to C++ and Code::Blocks. I have a project myProject and I have another project myProjectTesting, which depends on myProject.

I have setup myProject as a dependency for myProjectTesting, as explained in the Code::Blocks documentation: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=The_build_process_of_Code::Blocks#Using_project_dependencies

myProjectTesting contains only one file with the following code:

Code
#include "Position.hpp"

int main()
{
    Position position(3, 4);

return 0;
}

Position.hpp is a class header in myProject. I have the following error when compiling with gcc:

undefined reference to `Position::Position(int, int)'.

Note that the line Position position(3, 4); runs fine If I use it inside myProject.

The Position.hpp file is the following:

Code
/*
 * Position.hpp
 *  Created on: 30/08/2014
 *      Author: Romain
 */

#ifndef POSITION_H_
#define POSITION_H_
#include <string>

class Position
{
public:

Position(int _x, int _y);
    Position();
    Position deltaX(int delta);
    Position deltaY(int delta);
    Position deltaXY(int deltaX, int deltaY);
    int getX();
    int getY();
    std::string print();

private:

int x;
    int y;
};

#endif /* POSITION_H_ */

Offline cacb

• Lives here!
Re: Depedency between projects issue
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2014, 10:27:46 am »
When you declare (in Code::Blocks) a project as being dependent on another project, it only affects the order of the project builds, i.e. myProject is built before myProjectTesting in your case.

You still have to manually add the library myProject to the libraries being linked to from myProjectTesting, or else you will experience unresolved symbols, like you have seen.

Offline GoussLegend

• Single posting newcomer
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2014, 03:04:16 pm »