Author Topic: icon for code completion plugin  (Read 10287 times)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5371
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
icon for code completion plugin
« on: January 15, 2013, 04:19:26 pm »
I use Inkscape to create a simple icon for codecompletion plugin. see below (80*80pixel)

Edit: I see the pen region has white background, should be fixed tomorrow. :)

« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 04:22:33 pm by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5371
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2013, 02:32:58 pm »
updated, any comments?
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13438
    • Travis build status
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2013, 02:42:42 pm »
push...uf... commit  :P
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2013, 03:17:47 pm »
updated, any comments?
Design looks good, but is it possible to improve the anti-aliasing of the text?  (Not completely sure how you made it, but maybe try rendering the vector at the exact size as the desired output.)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5371
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2013, 03:40:09 pm »
updated, any comments?
Design looks good, but is it possible to improve the anti-aliasing of the text?  (Not completely sure how you made it, but maybe try rendering the vector at the exact size as the desired output.)
Thanks, I use Inkscape, I just add some text(font size is 10 point) in the icon image(80*80 point). I will try to use more larger point, and try again. I do no know how to use "anti-aliasing of text" in Inkscape. :)

I use 13 point size font, this is the largest font I can use for the text, see below.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9615
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2013, 04:28:14 pm »
I use 13 point size font, this is the largest font I can use for the text, see below.
Nice. :)

I never noticed, that the CC plugin has no icon in the settings, btw... :o
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2013, 08:33:47 pm »
Text is good on this last one.  My only other recommendations are make the parenthesis and curly brace dark red, leave the auto-comp box outline as black (red looks a little strange there in my opinion), and make the green selection rectangle a little larger (because the text is now larger).

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5371
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2013, 04:17:06 am »
Text is good on this last one.  My only other recommendations are make the parenthesis and curly brace dark red, leave the auto-comp box outline as black (red looks a little strange there in my opinion), and make the green selection rectangle a little larger (because the text is now larger).
Thanks for the comments, updated, see the attachment.
Edit: add the "off" icon.

« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 04:22:50 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9615
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2013, 04:22:59 pm »
Thanks for the comments, updated, see the attachment.
Edit: add the "off" icon.
I think its really looking "good enough" now. ;)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2013, 04:37:35 pm »
Thanks for the comments, updated, see the attachment.
Edit: add the "off" icon.
I think its really looking "good enough" now. ;)
Thumbs-up :).

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13438
    • Travis build status
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2013, 08:44:01 pm »
+1
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5371
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: icon for code completion plugin
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2013, 06:23:00 am »
Committed in rev8800. Thanks everyone! :)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.