Author Topic: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?  (Read 7062 times)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« on: January 18, 2006, 12:14:29 am »
Does anybody know? Because if i press ctrl-break, the whole gdb process (and not just C::B) gets interrupted :(

takeshimiya

  • Guest
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2006, 12:25:10 am »
I have the same problems with gdb.

Offline TDragon

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 943
    • TDM-GCC
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2006, 12:44:56 am »
Ctrl+C?
Not that it'd necessarily be much more helpful...
https://jmeubank.github.io/tdm-gcc/ - TDM-GCC compiler suite for Windows (GCC 9.2.0 2020-03-08, 32/64-bit, no extra DLLs)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2006, 01:10:02 am »
In these C::B forums i've read of some users reporting hangs (not crashes), and giving us the backtrace. How could they do it? :?

Offline 280Z28

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • *insert unicode here*
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2006, 02:11:37 am »
I use SysInternals Process Explorer. It can give a backtrace while the program is running. Ideally you could send a sigtrap to the program but I don't know how to do that (in windows).
78 280Z, "a few bolt-ons" - 12.71@109.04
99 Trans Am, "Daily Driver" - 525rwhp/475rwtq
 Check out The Sam Zone :cool:

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2006, 03:29:46 am »
:-o THANKS A LOT! :D

Offline Game_Ender

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
Re: How to interrupt C::B hangs (infinite loops) with GDB?
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2006, 05:47:24 am »
Those users were probably on Linux :),  I start up gdb with the codeblocks exectuable (ie: gdb <cbdir>/codeblocks) then once gdb starts up I type run at the gdb command line.  Ctrl+C just brings you back to the gdb command line, from there you can backtrace.