Author Topic: New to code blocks - compiling and decompiling  (Read 8827 times)

Offline chessguy

• Single posting newcomer
New to code blocks - compiling and decompiling
« on: January 09, 2012, 12:05:55 am »
Greetings all. Ok, here is my story. I have slight background programming expierience. However, I am new to the need to have a compiler/debugger/IDE. IT is all a bit of a mess for me. I don't know much in terms of anything right now, but I am currently learning C++. Meaning, I need, at least, to be able to test run (debug) programs. I have no clue on how to compile them either, but I assume it'd be the same problem. I'd be glad to know the ins and outs of using it, but right now I just want to learn and get it to work. Right now, it seems a bit more than I need. All I really want is debugging, compiling... color-coding is useful however. Thus, I found my way to an IDE.

Long story short, I installed everything - basic stuff, othe rplugins, MinGW, etc. When I try to debug (start), it says... it isn't set. Go to toolchain exutables, etc. I did. I couldn't ifnd, however, which debug program you are supposedf to link to, or decompiler. Which makes it kind of useless currently.

Can anyone help me get started with this? It is a bit frustrating currently.
Thanks.

Offline stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
Re: New to code blocks - compiling and decompiling
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 02:02:15 am »
What is the name and version of your Compiler?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline chessguy

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 02:22:56 am »
Thanks for replying.

As per compiler, none, really. I installed code blocks and the Min GW compilers and that stuff, if it helps. Not that I k now much about that, though.

Offline Alpha

• Developer
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2012, 11:35:07 pm »