Author Topic: Compile Errors  (Read 4802 times)

Offline hudsonm4000

• Single posting newcomer
Compile Errors
« on: December 15, 2011, 02:31:37 pm »
Hi, I'm new to this forum ... and having a problem with compiling on Linux (Ubuntu 11:10)

I am also new to using Linux (so this may well be my problem!!) but I have been successfully using CodeBlocks on Win7 for a couple of months now for some simple VST plugin development.

I am trying to get to get the again VST plugin demo from the Steinberg SDK to compile using CodeBlocks. I have successfully done this on a Windows PC, but on Linux it isn't working. I have done everything the same (except directories and linker paths are different of course), but I am getting errors

For example, the aeffect.h header file contains this line of code:

126.  typedef VstIntPtr (VSTCALLBACK *AEffectDispatcherProc) (AEffect* effect, VstInt32 opcode, VstInt32 index, VstIntPtr value, void* ptr, float opt);

which is generating this error:

/home/mark/SoftDev/SDK/vstsdk2.4/pluginterfaces/vst2.x/aeffect.h|126|error: expected ‘)’ before ‘*’ token|

Why is the compiler expecting  ‘)’ before ‘*’ ??  It's fine on Win7  and I am using GNU GCC as the compiler for both platforms.

None of the code is mine, it's all just the SDK demo code that I am using as a means of testing a setup for working on Linux. But as it worked on Win7 I need some guidance on what I am missing & what is going wrong here.

Many thanks
Mark

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Compile Errors
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 04:05:49 pm »
Please read the rules and post your problem in the appropriate place!
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Radek

• Multiple posting newcomer
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2011, 04:14:08 pm »
I have no experience with VST but I would try

Code