Author Topic: Install on Ubuntu  (Read 4771 times)

Offline Newbie0815

• Multiple posting newcomer
Install on Ubuntu
« on: April 17, 2011, 01:36:55 pm »
I´m a complete newbie with Linux, and I´m lost in between explanations.
I´m familiar with C::B under Windows/MinGW, therefore for my very first steps in Linux, I´m trying to install C::B, so I can have an IDE I´m familiar with.

All over the web there are 100s of posts, Wiki, Forums, etc, all explaining how to install one or another thing, but they are all different from one another and somehow they are all either incomplete, or plain wrong, at least me newbie can´t figure it out.

All I want is C::B installed so I can write a "Hello World" for a test.

On several other sites I found out, I have to install wxwidgets first, because Ubuntu doesn´t have the proper version, but on the how to do that I´m finding several dozen versions, I tried many of them, none worked, latest when they say something like "you have to add repositories" it seems they are either outdated or contain typos or I´m missing something.
Somewhere it said ".... gutsy wx ..." (replace gutsy with your version)
Checking my installation, I find out I have Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat, but if I try to replace gutsy with that, I´m getting error.

On installing C::B itself, the funny thing is, they all begin with "go to the C::B forum and download the latest nightly", including a link to it, but in the postings there it always says "Linux: None".
Afterwards they are all different again on the how to unpack and install and do settings, so even if I would find the proper download, I wouldn´t know how to install it from there.

To make this a bit shorter and easier:
I´ve just reinstalled a fresh Ubuntu 10.10 on a blank HDD.
Could anyone give me a foolproof list of things to to, to get to a properly installed C::B from there?

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Install on Ubuntu