Author Topic: Welcome Newcomers - PLEASE READ!!!  (Read 1139651 times)

Offline prouddaddy

• Single posting newcomer
Re: Welcome Newcomers - PLEASE READ!!!
« Reply #570 on: May 06, 2013, 05:05:04 am »
I am new. I am here.

I am new to cpp programing.  I am getting several error messages when
trying to build a program.
Is there a help source for the different build errors and what generally
 causes the errors? Or do I have to search for help on a specific error?
For example I get: D:\CPlusPlus Programs\BlankProject\main.cpp||In function 'int main()':
D:\CPlusPlus Programs\BlankProject\main.cpp|40|error: expected primary-expression before ']' token

Thanx for any help.

dsenic2000

« Reply #571 on: May 08, 2013, 04:59:24 pm »
"I am new, I am here"

Offline WardXmodem

Ward "Xmodem & BBSs" C is here
« Reply #572 on: May 08, 2013, 06:49:49 pm »
Hey guys 'n' gals, I'm someone who started programming back in (gasp) '65, actually writing a mainframe program.

I've done 360 Assembler, Cobol, fortran, C, Pascal, APL, and invented the Xmodem protocol that got many early computer hobbyists "online" in the last 70's, and with superb hardware hacker Randy Suess, invented the Bulletin Board System in '78, giving people something HOBBY based to call in to. .

SO after tens of thousands of lines of assembler, I finally graduated to a bit of Pascal, C, etc, and can "learn under the duress" of needing something small, pick up some Perl, or VBA, or whatever.  (I NEVER NEVER could understand PROLOGUE, with its goal seeking, etc). 

I'm now a retired IBMer after 44 years, and wanting to program in something other than my beloved KEDIT macros, and being quite ADD and etc have trouble focusing on really comprehending "Object Oriented". 

I learned the "fundamentals" of Windows programming thanks to AUTOIT3, i.e. the idea of putting stuff out there and waiting for the OS to tell you someone did something with your GUI interface.