Author Topic: Setting up and using the GFortran plugin.  (Read 20830 times)

Offline Henrici

• Single posting newcomer
Setting up and using the GFortran plugin.
« on: August 13, 2010, 05:06:18 am »
My goal is to find a free and relatively easy to use Fortran based IDE for Linux.  I am interested in compiling and debugging in a manner similar to setting break points in Visual Studio for C/C++/C#.  I understand Code::Blocks with GFortran seems to be one such solution to this problem.

I am relatively new to Linux and all the assortment of things that can be done with it.  My primary OS is currently Windows 7 (64 bit), and I have managed to successfully install and configure Ubuntu 10.04 (64 bit) inside VirtualBox.  I have installed Mono and Code::Blocks as well.  All appears working ok thus far.

So now I want to configure GFortran for Code::Blocks.  I did find the link [http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Installing_Fortran_Compiler], but I have been unsuccessful in really understanding the steps in the link and getting the Fortran plugin to work.  In fact, I believe the link has several referenced steps that don't apply, and may be leaving out many assumed steps.  I could really use some more help.  Please know my gfortran is installed at /usr/bin, and that is what I used in the steps.

I must be misunderstanding something ... all the configuration I mentioned above I did in roughly a day with very little Linux knowledge ... I can't see why the Fortran plugin for Code::Blocks should pose more of a challenge but it has me stumped.

Offline Henrici

• Single posting newcomer
Re: Setting up and using the GFortran plugin.
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 05:18:20 am »
Here are my steps:

[1]  Code::Blocks > Compiler and debugger settings.
[2]  Click Copy to copy the GNU GCC Compiler settings.
[3]  Type GFortran in the Add new compiler dialog and click Ok.