Author Topic: please help a novice  (Read 22892 times)

Offline kobby30

• Single posting newcomer
please help a novice
« on: March 03, 2010, 05:54:58 am »
i'm very new at this c++, bought the book c++ for dummies, i tried the first project the hello one. No console came up and i have typed everything correctly.
secondly i keep getting this message at the bottom............"hello - Debug" uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]. Skipping...
Nothing to be done.

someone please direct me to the right settings or something. i've been sat here almost 10 hours. I dont know if its the windows 7 im using or something. thanks.

Offline ollydbg

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: please help a novice
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 06:10:22 am »
You should tell us the information like which version of your (OS, C::B, compiler...), also the steps your create your project. otherwise, we can't help you.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline kobby30

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 06:37:24 am »
oh ok.....the version of my os is 64 bit operating system, windows 7 home edition, processor is AMD athlon(tm) neo x2 duo dual core....., c::B 8.02 , with the compiler when  i was installing i used the default GNU GCC compiler.
i followed the stepwise guide in the book ie creat a new project, then chose the console application, project title which is sayhello, but with the location i chosed a folder on ma desktop. then build....run nothing. please sort me out. thanks

Offline ollydbg

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 06:41:17 am »
OK
C::B 8.02 ------too old, please a nightly build version.