Author Topic: SNAFU  (Read 3962 times)

Offline Jt

• Multiple posting newcomer
SNAFU
« on: July 05, 2009, 06:11:50 pm »
I'm a newbie here... first post.  But I'm not a newbie to the forum.  I've been reading it for the past month, and have found answers to many questions.

That being said... I apparently screwed something up last night.  And I can't figure it out.

I've been using C:B for the last month or so for C ++ console apps and Win32 apps (trying to learn).   Then I found out about wxSmith, and tried that out.  I went through all of BYO's brilliant tutorials.  Everything worked great.

So, being a newbie, I tried to compile a simple wxWidgets project without using the wxSmith wizard.  It gave me a compile error... it couldn't find wx.h.  So, stupid me, I changed the global settings in C:B to include C:Source/Libraries/wxWidgets2.8/incude... etc.

Now, nothing works.

I mean nothing!  I've reloaded the wxPack and CodeBlocks.  If I try to compile a console project ( like hello world), it wants to try to look at some wx include files.  I'm sure I'm doing something stupid.

I know its an environment variable that I'm not setting right.  But I don't understand that stuff... I'm teaching a C++ class in Sept, and if I don't figure this stuff out now, I'm hosed ;-)

I've also had some issues with wxSmith on Linux... but that's a question for another post.

Thanks for any help.  (This is probably an easy one)

Jt

Offline Jt

Re: SNAFU
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 02:34:27 pm »
Resolved.... I think  :shock:

Through trial and error, I reset (through "C:B... Settings...Global variables..." to  C:\SourceCode\Libraries\wxWidgets2.8, which is where wxWidgets put my libraries.

Now I can compile a simple console app, like "hello world".  Also, I can compile a simple wxSmith app, through the wizard.

It no longer asks me for the (totally clueless here :() $(#wx) .

So, all is well here.