Author Topic: Problems with makefile  (Read 5264 times)

New_Programmer

Problems with makefile
« on: March 31, 2009, 06:51:38 pm »
Hello!  I'm just starting to learn c++.  I also like to play chess against other people and against computer programs.  There is a very famous chess program called Fruit 2.1 that I have been trying to compile the windows version before I edit the source code to change its playing style.  You can find the source at:

http://arctrix.com/nas/chess/fruit/

I'm using code::blocks IDE and have tried the watcom, borland 5.5, and the gnu gcc compilers to compile the makefile.  gnu gcc gives me the least amount of errors, only one error to be exact.

the makefile build log says:

pv.cpp random.cpp recog.cpp search.cpp search_full.cpp see.cpp sort.cpp square.cpp trans.cpp util.cpp value.cpp vector.cpp > .depend
mingw32-make.exe: *** No rule to make target `Release'.  Stop.
Process terminated with status 2 (0 minutes, 2 seconds)
1 errors, 0 warnings

the makefile build messages says:

Makefile|47|.depend: No such file or directory|
||=== Build finished: 1 errors, 0 warnings ===|

the makefile looks like this:

==========================================

# files

EXE = fruit

OBJS = attack.o board.o book.o eval.o fen.o hash.o list.o main.o material.o \
       move.o move_check.o move_do.o move_evasion.o move_gen.o move_legal.o \
       option.o pawn.o piece.o posix.o protocol.o pst.o pv.o random.o recog.o \
       search.o search_full.o see.o sort.o square.o trans.o util.o value.o \
       vector.o

# rules

all: $(EXE) .depend

clean:
   $(RM) *.o .depend gmon.out

# general

CXX      = g++
CXXFLAGS = -pipe
LDFLAGS  = -lm

# C++

CXXFLAGS += -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti

# optimisation

CXXFLAGS += -O3 -fstrict-aliasing
CXXFLAGS += -fomit-frame-pointer
# CXXFLAGS += -march=athlon-xp # SELECT ME

# strip

LDFLAGS += -s

# dependencies

$(EXE): $(OBJS)
   $(CXX) $(LDFLAGS) -o $@ $(OBJS)

.depend:
   $(CXX) -MM $(OBJS:.o=.cpp) > $@

include .depend