Author Topic: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?  (Read 8544 times)

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6642
    • My Best Post
Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« on: January 10, 2009, 08:44:20 am »
Is anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?

I am thinking of Using Code::Blocks to run Microchip's GCC for the PIC32mx micro-controllers.

Tim S

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline martind

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 12:34:32 am »
Hi Tim.

It should be quite possible as their compiler is based on gcc.
I also understand that somebody has introduced support for PIC32 in OpenOCD.

Martin.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6642
    • My Best Post
Re: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 05:38:55 am »
I am now looking at doing the Other PICs lines also/instead.
I am planning an Class Project using an PIC MCU; not yet decided on 16 or 32 bit fir the main controller.

I am looking at http://openfacts.berlios.de/index-en.phtml?title=Building_OpenOCD
I can see the mips_m4k files; that should make adding the PIC32mx easy.

Tim S
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline ntfreak

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 07:46:21 pm »
Openocd already supports the pic32mx.
Config files etc are included when get the openocd src.

Cheers
Spen

Offline surrealist14

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 01:18:46 am »
I am also interested in using C::B with the PIC32.  This topic is pretty stale, tho.  Can anyone provide an update?

I would like to use the MPLAB C32 Suite, based on gcc.  The debugger connection is through either an ICD3 ("hockey puck") or RealICE, both of which connect to a PC using USB.  The MPLAB debugger is pretty horrible, and the MPLAB editor is agony.  Is there any way to import or convert MPLAB workspaces and projects for the PIC32 into C::B workspaces and projects?  Is there any way to debug from within C::B?  I know that an API is available for the ICD3 and RealICE.  Trying to see if anyone made progress on this because I would LOVE to put MPLAB away for good!

Thanks!

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6642
    • My Best Post
Re: Anyone Using Code::Blocks with PIC32mx MCUs?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2011, 03:57:48 am »
I have not put any time or effort into this project; to many other things for me to do.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org