Author Topic: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces  (Read 11876 times)

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« on: September 23, 2005, 05:47:45 pm »
When i try to import an MS Workspace file (.dsw) it says that "Project '/home/user/.\project\path\file.dsp' does not exist...".

Seems like it's a slash-backslash problem here, since the files *do* exist.

should i file this as a bug at sf?

-st3vie

(CodeBlocks cvs / Gentoo Linux / wx2.6.1u)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2005, 05:55:44 pm »
@ZieQ:

I 've heard this from other people too. Can you double-check the importers, before RC2 is released?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2005, 06:22:54 pm »
@ZieQ:

I 've heard this from other people too. Can you double-check the importers, before RC2 is released?

I know where it comes from, wxFileName(s) need a Normalize() to the native format. I'll make the fix ASAP, but I do not have my CVS access now ;)

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2005, 07:01:01 pm »
Should be ok now, but since I do not have a linux box to test my fix, could somebody confirm it's ok? (st3vie, Yiannis?)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2005, 08:09:58 pm »
Well, it still compiles so that's good :P
Unfortunately, I can't test for the specific error because I don't have a test case that I know would fail.
So we have to wait for the cvs lag to elapse and then st3vie can try it and tell us...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2005, 08:29:40 pm »
just run an cvs update? and recompile? sure, i'll check it out then.

thanks! :)

-st3vie

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2005, 10:08:58 pm »
Just keep in mind that anonymous cvs lags a few hours (typically 4 to 6 hours). So, when you update, make sure sdk/*workspaceloader.cpp are actually updated...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2005, 11:42:58 am »
it seems some files are updated, but it doesn't work yet.
i still get those backslashes ( \ ) in the "does not exist" messages.

The files msvcworkspaceloader.cpp and msvc7workspaceloader.cpp have a date of 23 sept 2005,
but workspaceloader.cpp itself, still has 18 sept 2005.

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2005, 09:46:33 pm »
Really odd, the Normalize function is supposed to convert path to the native format. Could you display the debug log and copy/paste the log when loading file? Maybe you could also attach the workspace so we can have a look into it?


Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2005, 10:20:25 pm »
i also tried it with one publicly available. the source for VirtualDub. You can find it here http://virtualdub.sourceforge.net/
It may not compile or anything but i just tried this one to check the importer. :)

If needed, i'll post screens and all.

Oh, another thing then perhaps. When you import the workspace mentioned above, you have to click through 20 popups with "OK".
Perhaps an idea to have an option to cancel the import as well?

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2005, 11:06:51 am »
And now?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2005, 11:51:54 am »
It's fixed now in CVS.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2005, 11:58:41 am »
ok, great. thanks! i'll try it out too as soon as anonymous is updated too.

-st3vie

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2005, 03:37:33 pm »
well, i noticed that some files were updated, but now, when i try make, i get the following errors:

Code: [Select]
Making all in src
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src'
Making all in sdk
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src/sdk'
Makefile:548: .deps/Managers.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:549: .deps/StdAfx.Plo: No such file or directory

    <cut more lines like these>

Makefile:616: .deps/toolsmanager.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:617: .deps/workspaceloader.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:618: .deps/xtra_classes.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:619: .deps/xtra_res.Plo: No such file or directory
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `.deps/xtra_res.Plo'.  Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src/sdk'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

So, unfortunately i still can't give my comment, although it probably works, like mandrav said. :)

-st3vie

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2005, 05:52:19 pm »
hm, maybe this problem was related to another error i got, when running configure. :?

Code: [Select]
config.status: error: cannot find input file: src/plugins/contrib/Makefile.in
-st3vie

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2005, 08:19:36 pm »
Re-run ./bootstrap
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2005, 09:48:43 pm »
boot strap goes fine. but during configure i still get this message:

Code: [Select]
config.status: error: cannot find input file: src/plugins/contrib/Makefile.in
i read in an other thread that a file was missing, so i guess that will solve this then when the cvs is up to date?

-st3vie
« Last Edit: September 25, 2005, 11:33:07 pm by st3vie »

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2005, 09:49:50 pm »
Yes, sorry about that.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2005, 11:32:29 pm »
to go back on topic here... the importing now went fine. thanks for fixing that. :)

however... i tried it out with the virtualdub sources as well, and when i close CB, it crashed while closing all projects in the workspace one by one.

In the CB Debug messages i see this:
Code: [Select]
C++ Parser freed
Setting up compiler environment

Some times i see those lines 2 times before it crashes, and some times i see them 10 times (once for every project freed i guess) before it crashes with the message: "Something has gone wrong inside CB and it will...".

-st3vie

Offline grv575

  • Official tester
  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 381
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2005, 12:31:54 am »
codeblocks generates a codeblocks.rpt crash report when it crashes.  posting that would help pin down the source of the crash (note also the codeblocks compiled in the devel directory contains debuggins information while the one in the output directory does not).

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2005, 11:09:44 am »
I have located another problem with importers that do not properly handle workspace/project configurations (there's an error on the debug log !). I'm working on a fix but it's quite hard to handle visual 6 workspaces since there's no documentation about the format. I'm trying to figure out how visual 7 imports visual 6 projects configurations. Hope this time the importer will work properly :roll:. Note that, for now, there's no "project configurations" feature in C::B so we fake by using targets instead.

I'll try to post a patch this evening.

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2005, 12:15:41 pm »
codeblocks generates a codeblocks.rpt crash report when it crashes.  posting that would help pin down the source of the crash (note also the codeblocks compiled in the devel directory contains debuggins information while the one in the output directory does not).

hm, i don't get a .rpt file when that crash occurs. Where should this file be, if it exists? Using find didn't help either. :? Or is this a dev-cvs-only thing you talk about?

@zieQ:
yes, i saw it now as well: ERROR: could not find targets.
i guess i didn't scroll down completely last time, when the import worked. :oops:

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2005, 04:39:10 pm »
The rpt file should be located in the same directory as codeblocks executable, so either in the devel/ or output/ directory

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2005, 06:41:53 pm »
i'm a bit confused now :? The devel and output dir are not there, where i installed CB.
i installed CB in /opt/codeblocks-cvs and this is what i have there:

Code: [Select]
bin:
codeblocks  console_runner

lib:
libcodeblocks.la  libcodeblocks.so.0      libwxscintilla.la  libwxscintilla.so.0      pkgconfig
libcodeblocks.so  libcodeblocks.so.0.0.1  libwxscintilla.so  libwxscintilla.so.0.0.1

share:
application-registry  applications  codeblocks  icons  mime  mime-info  pixmaps

so.. did i miss something? or do something wrong? Should those dirs have been created during install?

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2005, 10:58:07 pm »
Oh hum, I'm not sure how C::B is organised now due to the new autoconf project. Don't know where you could find the rpt file  :?

I fixed the ERROR during import, should be OK now :wink:

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2005, 11:27:21 pm »
great! :)

about the rpt file... could it be that there now is a dir or two missing, so the rpt file isn't created?

-st3vie

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2005, 01:15:37 am »
Guys, are you sure the rpt can be created under Linux? I thought it was a windows-only feature. Or maybe I'm wrong?  :? Yiannis?

Offline grv575

  • Official tester
  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 381
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #27 on: September 27, 2005, 03:39:43 am »
I was being dumb.  Linux does core dumps, windows does debugger hooks.

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #28 on: September 27, 2005, 12:34:02 pm »
ok, then i can stop looking for faults here. :)

-st3vie

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2005, 01:14:19 pm »
@st3vie: I moved your last post here.
Next time, please start a new topic for new issues...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...