Author Topic: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces  (Read 11878 times)

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« on: September 23, 2005, 05:47:45 pm »
When i try to import an MS Workspace file (.dsw) it says that "Project '/home/user/.\project\path\file.dsp' does not exist...".

Seems like it's a slash-backslash problem here, since the files *do* exist.

should i file this as a bug at sf?

-st3vie

(CodeBlocks cvs / Gentoo Linux / wx2.6.1u)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2005, 05:55:44 pm »
@ZieQ:

I 've heard this from other people too. Can you double-check the importers, before RC2 is released?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2005, 06:22:54 pm »
@ZieQ:

I 've heard this from other people too. Can you double-check the importers, before RC2 is released?

I know where it comes from, wxFileName(s) need a Normalize() to the native format. I'll make the fix ASAP, but I do not have my CVS access now ;)

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2005, 07:01:01 pm »
Should be ok now, but since I do not have a linux box to test my fix, could somebody confirm it's ok? (st3vie, Yiannis?)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2005, 08:09:58 pm »
Well, it still compiles so that's good :P
Unfortunately, I can't test for the specific error because I don't have a test case that I know would fail.
So we have to wait for the cvs lag to elapse and then st3vie can try it and tell us...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2005, 08:29:40 pm »
just run an cvs update? and recompile? sure, i'll check it out then.

thanks! :)

-st3vie

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2005, 10:08:58 pm »
Just keep in mind that anonymous cvs lags a few hours (typically 4 to 6 hours). So, when you update, make sure sdk/*workspaceloader.cpp are actually updated...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2005, 11:42:58 am »
it seems some files are updated, but it doesn't work yet.
i still get those backslashes ( \ ) in the "does not exist" messages.

The files msvcworkspaceloader.cpp and msvc7workspaceloader.cpp have a date of 23 sept 2005,
but workspaceloader.cpp itself, still has 18 sept 2005.

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2005, 09:46:33 pm »
Really odd, the Normalize function is supposed to convert path to the native format. Could you display the debug log and copy/paste the log when loading file? Maybe you could also attach the workspace so we can have a look into it?


Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2005, 10:20:25 pm »
i also tried it with one publicly available. the source for VirtualDub. You can find it here http://virtualdub.sourceforge.net/
It may not compile or anything but i just tried this one to check the importer. :)

If needed, i'll post screens and all.

Oh, another thing then perhaps. When you import the workspace mentioned above, you have to click through 20 popups with "OK".
Perhaps an idea to have an option to cancel the import as well?

-st3vie

Offline zieQ

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 155
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2005, 11:06:51 am »
And now?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2005, 11:51:54 am »
It's fixed now in CVS.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2005, 11:58:41 am »
ok, great. thanks! i'll try it out too as soon as anonymous is updated too.

-st3vie

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2005, 03:37:33 pm »
well, i noticed that some files were updated, but now, when i try make, i get the following errors:

Code: [Select]
Making all in src
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src'
Making all in sdk
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src/sdk'
Makefile:548: .deps/Managers.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:549: .deps/StdAfx.Plo: No such file or directory

    <cut more lines like these>

Makefile:616: .deps/toolsmanager.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:617: .deps/workspaceloader.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:618: .deps/xtra_classes.Plo: No such file or directory
Makefile:619: .deps/xtra_res.Plo: No such file or directory
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `.deps/xtra_res.Plo'.  Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src/sdk'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/local/src/dev-util/codeblocks/src'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

So, unfortunately i still can't give my comment, although it probably works, like mandrav said. :)

-st3vie

Offline st3vie

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: paths wrong when importing MSWorkspaces
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2005, 05:52:19 pm »
hm, maybe this problem was related to another error i got, when running configure. :?

Code: [Select]
config.status: error: cannot find input file: src/plugins/contrib/Makefile.in
-st3vie