Author Topic: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks  (Read 6557 times)

Offline mmkider

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 150
I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« on: October 31, 2008, 07:52:06 am »
in winxp with mingw 3.4.5
Using gdb 6.6, I can debug codeblocks source, but I can't debug wxwidget sample code.

I change gdb 6.6 into gdb 6.83, and then I can debug wxwidgets sample code but can't debgu codeblocks source .

How do I choose?

« Last Edit: October 31, 2008, 10:24:20 am by mmkider »

Offline mmkider

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 150
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 03:31:52 pm »
In these days, I am sure this problem is gdb problem.

Now I downgrade gdb into 6.3.2 and debug codeblocks source is good.


I am sorry I have misunderstood. :(

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 11:04:28 am »
Now I downgrade gdb into 6.3.2 and debug codeblocks source is good.
Yes - that's some weirdness I had to learn, too. :(
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 10:29:35 am »
Funnily, gdb 6.8 works without problems.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2008, 11:07:11 am »
Funnily, gdb 6.8 works without problems.

Depends on how you define "problems" :).
For example, with gdb 6.8 on windows, if I enable the "catch C++ exceptions" option it causes an internal gdb error...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2008, 11:21:58 am »
Again... funny. Because this is probably the best feature you've ever added, I have it enabled of course, and it works just fine.
Well, for me, anyway.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2008, 12:23:49 pm »
Well, for me, anyway.
Not for me, too (on Windows). :-(
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2008, 12:24:09 pm »
Funnily, gdb 6.8 works without problems.
Lucky bastard! :lol:
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2008, 12:36:12 pm »
Maybe you're all using the SJLJ exception variety of the compiler? Dunno, but... since my gdb executable should be the same and do the same as yours, that's the only thing I could imagine why it should work for me and not for you.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2008, 02:20:30 pm »
...why it should work for me and not for you.

I believe it may have to do with the compiler one uses. I, for instance, use the old 3.4.5. I know... maybe I should consider finally moving on ;).
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2008, 04:19:33 pm »
I, for instance, use the old 3.4.5. I know...
Me Myself and I uses this version, too.

maybe I should consider finally moving on ;).
...me probably not... or should I...?!
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2008, 08:12:14 pm »
You definitively should.

I'm using the 4.2.1-DW2 as main compiler for many months, which really works nicely. Heh, I'm the first person to start puking if something doesn't work 100% well.
There's never a problem with gcc 4.2, except for a single case where I saw it issue a wrong warning about a presumably uninitialised variable after turning on "all" warnings plus "extra" warnings.

For playing around, I'm using TDragon's 4.3 build which mostly works ok too, apart from occasional failures (have seen an internal compiler error once, and have seen incorrectly optimised code on two occasions) which kind of limit its production use. The gcc 4.3 branch sadly still needs a bit of work.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: I am confused for debug in the codeblocks
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 08:49:50 pm »
on windows I have been using 4.2.1 dw2 for many months now (maybe already a year or longer,can't remember). No issues thus far.