Author Topic: Adding "Explore folder"  (Read 3960 times)

Offline AntonioCS

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Adding "Explore folder"
« on: August 12, 2008, 01:29:27 pm »
I would much like to see this option in the menu of the "Project Manager"

It would be an option to open the folder of where the project was.

I sometimes do some web work and dreamweaver and phped have this option and I find it to be great!

Thanks

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9493
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 01:39:53 pm »
I would much like to see this option in the menu of the "Project Manager"
If I got right what you mean (open an Explorer in a the project folder?!) then you can achieve this easily via the "tools" menu. Just setup an explorer as a "tool" and use the project's folder as a parameter appropriate.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5164
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 02:04:25 pm »
might be nice to add it in CB though.

But then in platform independent way, and there might be the difficult part.

But Morton's suggestion will work (on windows).

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9493
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2008, 02:54:32 pm »
But then in platform independent way, and there might be the difficult part.
Indeed. But we need to consider virtual folders and file type categories, too. So it's not always distinct.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline dmoore

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2008, 04:26:19 pm »
I'm sure it would be easy to write a simple standalone plugin for Windows or Linux to support this feature.

Another way would be to use my ShellExtensions plugin: I just committed right click support for projects in the project pane. That means that you can add arbitrary shell commands to the context menu that appears when the user right clicks on a project. The ShellExtensions treats a right click on a project as the equivalent as clicking on its directory allowing you to execute commands that will substitute the project directory name for the variables $dir or $path .

You could use this new feature to add "Explore Directory" as a right click option by going to Settings -> Environment -> ShellExtensions -> Click "New" -> Set Name = Explore Directory, Set Command = explorer $dir, Set Menu Location = ., Set Context Menu Location = Explore Directory -> Click OK

This would also work on Linux in Gnome/KDE substituting explorer for nautilus or konqueror etc

EDIT: I could also add the option to display the project directory in the ShellExtensions plugin's builtin File Manager
« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 06:20:44 pm by dmoore »

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9493
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 04:49:05 pm »
Another way would be to use my ShellExtensions plugin: I just committed right click support for projects in the project pane.
There you go. :-)

EDIT: I could also add the option to display the project directory in the ShellExtensions plugin's builtin File Manager
...see above... ;-)

I'd say problem solved. Hehe.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline dmoore

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
Re: Adding "Explore folder"
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2008, 04:08:50 am »
EDIT: I could also add the option to display the project directory in the ShellExtensions plugin's builtin File Manager

Now also in the cbilplugin SVN.