Author Topic: Code::Blocks unusable on Mac OS X 10.4  (Read 18127 times)

atari_eric

Code::Blocks unusable on Mac OS X 10.4
« on: March 11, 2008, 08:41:11 am »
Mind you, I have used both the Linux and Windows versions of this program for a few months, and I otherwise think it's a great program, but:

The Mac OS X build of Code::Blocks is completely unusable.

It takes a good few minutes to even load up - even XCode boots up faster (I'm trying to find a lighter weight IDE, not more bloatware), and this is after I delete the truckful of unnecessary plugins you have deemed to have pre-installed.  It takes *5 seconds* just for the setup page to come up - and the "OK" butons are off the bottom of the screen!  It doesn't help that the completely unnecessary menu graphics take up a quarter of the screen...

It is a real shame to see a program with such potential become riddled with such quality-critical bugs.  I am a professional programmer myself, and I if a project I was working on put out a "big" release such as this with bugs as bad as these, my team would not only be fired on the spot, but blacklisted from the industry to make sure they either learned their lesson, or starved on the street regretting their incompetence.

I am assuming the reason the Mac build is how it is is because there are few (if any) Mac programmers contributing to the project.  I wish I was more skilled at Mac programming (and had more free time) as I'd rather fix a problem, rather than just complain about it.  I only hope that this post calls attention to the state of the Mac build so that other Mac programmers can make this program the work of art it should be.

Good Luck,
Eric.

Offline afb

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Re: Code::Blocks unusable on Mac OS X 10.4
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2008, 01:50:08 pm »