Author Topic: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks  (Read 4779 times)

Offline Oulaxer11

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« on: February 21, 2008, 10:17:14 pm »
I have looked into the wiki and the manuals and some other online doco in regards to getting compilers and make working and I am not having any luck...

My first goal is to simply get the command

Code
make cleanall

to work

My work is using CYGWIN make and a Cosmic Compiler - both are installed in different locations if that matters. the source code is of course located in a 3rd location...

Steps I have taken so far (under Toolchain Executables)
for Make Program  -
Code
make.exe

for Additional paths I have -
Code
C:\cygwin\bin

I think I am close.... when I try to clean I get this error


Code
..
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: `echo Deleting build files (ls, o, 695, x12 ,sym)'
make: *** [clean] Error 2
Process terminated with status 2 (0 minutes, 1 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings
 


Any help with this would be greatly appreciated...




I made a copy of the GNU Compiler as a base for my attempt at a compiler package..




If I can, I would like to add what I learn here to the wiki for others
-Mike

Offline Oulaxer11

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 09:10:41 pm »
I understand that this is probably a very elementary issue here... but for those who have to manually set this stuff up... its impossible to get working without some insight.... and as I said, I would be more than willing to add this knowledge to the wiki...
-Mike

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 09:33:14 pm »
I think I am close.... when I try to clean I get this error


Code
..
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: `echo Deleting build files (ls, o, 695, x12 ,sym)'
make: *** [clean] Error 2
Process terminated with status 2 (0 minutes, 1 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings
 


Any help with this would be greatly appreciated...

Your file has syntax errors...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline Oulaxer11

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2008, 03:22:19 pm »
Seriously?  Look, here is proof that it works in the command shell, see attached...

[attachment deleted by admin]
-Mike

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2008, 04:34:34 pm »
Is there another make-program in "Compiler's installation directory" that might interfere with the one in "Additional paths"?
If yes, you can try to rename one of them.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2008, 07:46:28 pm »
Seriously?  Look, here is proof that it works in the command shell, see attached...

You know, this attitude won't get you much help normally...

Still, I will give you a tip: the cygwin shell is much different than the windows normal "shell" (cmd.exe). You 're trying to run a script made for one shell (cygwin) inside a different shell (cmd.exe). This doesn't work and it gives you strange syntax errors (look at your first post).
Now, I don't use cygwin myself (I prefer the Real Thing) so I can't give you advice. But the info I gave you above should help you to find your way around it (or someone else to help you).
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline straka.milan

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2008, 09:26:35 pm »
I suppose you are using a Makefile. It would be useful to post it here.
Q='Q=%s;printf "$Q" "\x27$Q\x27"';printf "$Q" "'$Q'"

Offline Oulaxer11

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: using CYGWIN MAKE from within codeblocks
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2008, 09:04:15 pm »
Seriously?  Look, here is proof that it works in the command shell, see attached...

You know, this attitude won't get you much help normally...

Still, I will give you a tip: the cygwin shell is much different than the windows normal "shell" (cmd.exe). You 're trying to run a script made for one shell (cygwin) inside a different shell (cmd.exe). This doesn't work and it gives you strange syntax errors (look at your first post).
Now, I don't use cygwin myself (I prefer the Real Thing) so I can't give you advice. But the info I gave you above should help you to find your way around it (or someone else to help you).


I'll grant you that, but its very frustrating to get an off the cuff response to a post that I would have a syntax error, instead of something a little more substantially wrong with my setup.  I too would love to work within the real thing, except that the rest of the tools / everyone else here / runs M$ windows....

I have renamed or removed any other make.exe on my C:\ to remove the issue of it calling the wrong make file... now I am sure its something wrong with my settings, and I'm sure its trivial, but I am very new to manually setting up an IDE as flexible and generic (these are good things) as Code::Blocks to work with my tools.
-Mike