Author Topic: compiling problem  (Read 3087 times)

Drew::Blocks

compiling problem
« on: February 17, 2008, 10:23:03 pm »
i'm new to code::blocks and programming in general, so i'm gonna try and explain this as clearly as i can.

when i open code::blocks, the first thing you have to do is open a new project, o.k pretty easy so far.
so i then press console application, which i have been told to do, i click to do c not c++, beacuse that's what programming language i'll be using, i don't tick the thing underneath which says, "do not create any files", which makes the file main.c appear. well, i click open file-->main.c, which brings main.c up, when it's compiled and built, the program says hello world, fair enough. so i go back and open a different file, this is a tutorial file which worked 2 days ago, called sumsqares(by dodrill@swcp.com), it opens the file, when i say compile and build, it gives me lots of errors, now this isn't a problem, really, the problem is this: if i cut and paste this same code, into the main.c, it works. so then i work out, well i might need to add it to the workspace, so i add it to the workspace(the sumsquares.c file not main.c, which has already been added), and it doesn't work, but the main.c (with the source code from sumsquares) still works, code is this :
      /* Chapter 5 - Program 1 - SUMSQRES.C */
#include <stdio.h>

int sum; /* This is a global variable */

int main()
{
int index;

header();          /* This calls the function named header */
   for (index = 1 ; index <= 7 ; index++)
      square(index);  /* This calls the square function */
   ending();          /* This calls the ending function */

return 0;
}

header()        /* This is the function named header */
{
   sum = 0;     /* Initialize the variable "sum" */
   printf("This is the header for the square program\n\n");
}

square(number)   /* This is the square function */
int number;
{
int numsq;

numsq = number * number;  /* This produces the square */