User forums > Help

[intro + need info] Would like lil more info to start.

(1/1)

Valmont:
Goodday fellow C++ coders.

intro

I teach (mainly) junior university students ISO C++ in the Nethelands. I endorse DevCpp usually. Nevertheless it doesn't hurt to look around. Yesterday I was informed about the existance of Code::Blocks. First thing I did was downloading the Win32 (XP) version, latest release candidate obviously. Later I'll go for the Linux version. GCC/G++ is the compiler for me. My background is math and electrical engineering. On daily basis I concentrate on design instead on  "cool" code. So far about introducing myself. Feel free to ask any questions if you have them.

need a little help

1) Where in the IDE do I find detailed info about the current GCC/G++ version?
2) Am I allowed to use DevPacks to upgrade my GCC/C++ compiler. Are there any pitfalls I should be aware of?
3) The source code formatter "Astyle" is jolly handy. You won't believe the code format I sometimes receive from students.
Question: Where do I configure various settings like tabwidth. Currently it set by default on 4 sapaces. I would like 2 spaces. Furthermore I may want to enforce ANSI style formats. If it is possible to configure the built in Astyler then please do inform me.

That's it basically. Nothing fancy, just a starter so I can become productive with it asap within my domain.

Have a nice day,
Val

thomas:
1. The IDE currently has no function for displaying that, but you can of course always add --version to the compiler's extra options.
The "bundled" compiler coming with RC1 is gcc 3.4.2, and RC1-1 does not come with a compiler (install yourself, or use the one coming with Dev-CPP). I recommend installing MinGW separately, is a lot nicer.

2. Can't tell, have never used the DevPak plugin, but it sure should just work fine. Be sure not to mess your different installations and include/library paths, though. Best install one version of MinGW in one place and use that.