Author Topic: wxSmith where to invoke?  (Read 5000 times)

Offline hongxing

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 60
wxSmith where to invoke?
« on: October 19, 2005, 01:51:42 am »
I use the cvs-head source code to compile the C::B, but when run, I can not find where to invoke wxSmith.

how?

thanks!

Offline Ceniza

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
    • CenizaSOFT
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2005, 05:18:09 am »
I guess you didn't compile wxSmith.

All the third-party plugins must be compiled apart.

Go to codeblocks/src/plugins/contrib/wxSmith, open the project file for unix and compile it. Now be sure to copy the resource files and the plugin to your Code::Blocks folder or run the one in codeblocks/src/devel.

Offline hongxing

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 10:42:54 am »
will wxSmith be involved defaultly like codecompletion plugin in the next version.

now I using daniel2000's spec file to build rpm, I want the rpm file to have wxSmith installed defaultly.

thanks!

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 02:54:26 pm »
will wxSmith be involved defaultly like codecompletion plugin in the next version.

now I using daniel2000's spec file to build rpm, I want the rpm file to have wxSmith installed defaultly.

thanks!

Hi, maybe it will be inside RC2 on windows platform. But unfortunately wxSmith isn't stable enough, I guess You're running on Linux, I've found some strange bugs with property grid there (when selecting anything in combo box, it crashes, i don't know why) and I've found some huge bugs lately (f.ex. don't use wxSmith to open 2 or more editors cos You are going to have seg faults).
I thought wxSmith was much more stable :oops: and I think that using wxSmith isn't a good idea right now. Really nice seg faults granted ;)

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2005, 10:48:12 am »
Ok, I've fixed some really stupid bugs and wxSmith works preety stable :). So If You want to use it here are some steps:

- Compile wxSmith using C::B (project fiile is in CB_DIR/src/plugins/contrib/wxSmith/wxSmith_2_6_unix.cbp
- copy recursively CB_DIR/src/devel/share/CodeBlocks to /usr/local/share/codeblocks (or any other C::B's share directory)

And that's all :) After that You have resource browser and wxSmith menu entry :)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2005, 05:06:50 pm »
Yay! :D Hopefully we can have a rock-solid version by 1.0? :)

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2005, 09:05:41 pm »
Yay! :D Hopefully we can have a rock-solid version by 1.0? :)

I hope so  :D that would be really... nice  8)

Offline hongxing

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2005, 08:26:45 am »
when I compile wxSmith using C::B in Linux, it says:
g++: Cannot spedify -o with -C or -S and multiple compilations

help, thanks!

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith where to invoke?
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2005, 09:29:08 am »
when I compile wxSmith using C::B in Linux, it says:
g++: Cannot spedify -o with -C or -S and multiple compilations

help, thanks!

Go to "Settings->Compiler->Other" and set "GNU make" as build method.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...