Author Topic: BrowseTracker plugin  (Read 55583 times)

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #75 on: February 17, 2008, 07:46:29 pm »
Pecan,
I just did an SVN update, to Rev 45, on your source code in
http://cbbrowsetracker.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/  and am still getting the ToolBox error discussed earlier.
Are you sure that you fixed the repo version? Maybe I am looking in the wrong place.

I just updated the .cpb files for the project. See if that's the problem.

Edit: 2008/02/17 14:04
I just did a svn checkout to a temp dir. It compiled fine.
Let me know how it goes for you.
Thanks for the report.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 08:05:22 pm by Pecan »

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5229
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #76 on: February 17, 2008, 09:29:39 pm »
I have nearly everything ready for commit in CB svn. Indeed the cbp files are not correct. I have updated the windows and linux one. Already builds on windows, haven't been able to try on linux. So tomorrow morning after first commit, a few more commits might follow, to fix linux issues.

Please keep a close watch on the committed files.

One little nasty thing was the include of manager.h from wxAUI ;-)
But it is dealt with, although it is not extremely nice.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5229
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #77 on: February 17, 2008, 09:50:49 pm »
commit has happened

Offline rhf

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 123
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #78 on: February 17, 2008, 11:42:03 pm »
I just updated the .cpb files for the project. See if that's the problem.
One little nasty thing was the include of manager.h from wxAUI ;-)
But it is dealt with, although it is not extremely nice.
Pecan,

I had the same problem with manager.h referred to by killerbot above.
However, I did get the source that killerbot committed to the SVN repository and it compiled fine.

Thanks to you and killerbot for this good work!

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #79 on: March 09, 2008, 09:13:40 pm »
BrowseTracker is now part of the Release 8.02 Contribs.

http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Code::Blocks_Plugins.

You can use the 8.02 installer to install it from the Plugin Contributions category.
 

Offline mariocup

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #80 on: March 13, 2008, 09:06:57 am »
Hi Pecan,

I have a little suggestion for Browse Tracker plugin. Since settings for Thread Search and other Plugins can be configured in Settings->Environment dialogue it would be nice to have also an entry for Browse Tracker there instead of the existing menu in View->Browse Tracker->Settings.

Bye,

Mario

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #81 on: March 15, 2008, 06:04:45 pm »
Hi Pecan,

I have a little suggestion for Browse Tracker plugin. Since settings for Thread Search and other Plugins can be configured in Settings->Environment dialogue it would be nice to have also an entry for Browse Tracker there instead of the existing menu in View->Browse Tracker->Settings.

Bye,

Mario

Done SVN 4961, but added to Settings->Editor

Offline ironhead

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #82 on: April 02, 2008, 03:32:31 pm »
Is it possible to persist BrowseTracker bookmarks to a file?  I really like the functionality of this plugin, but when I close CodeBlocks, all the previous bookmarks are lost (i.e. when I open a file, it's always at the start of the file instead of the previous point where I was editing the file).

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #83 on: April 02, 2008, 07:16:39 pm »
i.e. when I open a file, it's always at the start of the file instead of the previous point where I was editing the file.

I don't understand your statement.

BrowseTracker saves and reloads bookmarks for all files in a project. It does not save bookmarks for files *not* in a project, or for bookmarks to a file modified outside the project.

Could you provide me with an example of how to re-create your problem.

Offline ironhead

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #84 on: April 02, 2008, 08:06:15 pm »
I have a project with 14 directories in it.  If I open a given file and go to a certain line and close that file (but leave the project open), when I reopen the file it returns to that line.

example:

Open:
Sources
-- emerge
----main.cpp (click on line 47)
Close the file.

Re-open:
Sources
-- emerge
----main.cpp (editor returns to line 47)
Close the project.

Re-open the project and open:
Sources
-- emerge
----main.cpp (editor starts at the top of the file)

My understanding was that BrowseTracker would keep track of the fact that main.cpp was opened to line 47 and return to that the next time I opened main.cpp (even after closing and re-opening the project).  Perhaps I missunderstood the intent of BrowseTracker?


Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #85 on: April 03, 2008, 01:52:02 am »
...<snip>...
My understanding was that BrowseTracker would keep track of the fact that main.cpp was opened to line 47 and return to that the next time I opened main.cpp (even after closing and re-opening the project).  Perhaps I missunderstood the intent of BrowseTracker?

Correct, that is a misunderstanding.

It is CodeBlocks' "layout" processing that repositions files on reopen. The reason it's not repositioning for you now is that you are closing the file before closing the project.

If you leave the file open, but just close the project, "layout" will reposition the file as you left it.

However, you could set a BrowseMark at a line, then close the file.
On reopen, Browsetracker will be able to reposition to the BrowseMark with Alt-Up/Down.

Also, your "misunderstanding" presents a good idea. I'll think on it.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 01:58:34 am by Pecan »

Offline Seronis

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 197
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #86 on: April 03, 2008, 03:52:17 am »
Also, your "misunderstanding" presents a good idea. I'll think on it.

I agree.  I would appreciate this extension greatly too.

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #87 on: April 05, 2008, 06:10:44 pm »
Re-open the project and open:
Sources
-- emerge
----main.cpp (editor starts at the top of the file)

I cannot seem to recreate this problem.

I position to a line, close the file, then close the project.
When I then reopen the project, then reopen the file, the cursor is positioned correctly to the line I last had the cursor when it was closed.

Are you certain that when you closed the file that the *cursor* was on the line you wished to be recorded at close?

Are you certain that the file actually belongs to the active project? Only files added to the project are processed by layout.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 06:16:26 pm by Pecan »

Offline ironhead

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #88 on: April 06, 2008, 05:52:15 am »
Hrm... it's is indeed working as you describe.  The problem is that when I open the file again the cursor position is cleared.  Can it be setup that it doesn't clear the cursor position on load?

edit

It looks like a focus issue.  When I double click to open the file, the cursor line is selected, but the focus goes back to the file Management Pane, as a result the cursor line 'disappears'.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 06:13:54 am by ironhead »

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2210
Re: BrowseTracker plugin
« Reply #89 on: April 06, 2008, 05:30:40 pm »
It looks like a focus issue.  When I double click to open the file, the cursor line is selected, but the focus goes back to the file Management Pane, as a result the cursor line 'disappears'.

Turn on Settings->Editor->MouseDragScrolling->AutoFocusEditors

and see if that is more to your liking.

You might want to also try

Settings->Editor->MouseDragScrolling->FocusFollowsMouse