Author Topic: Precompiled headers in the codeblocks project?  (Read 6943 times)

Offline rickg22

• Lives here!
Precompiled headers in the codeblocks project?
« on: July 12, 2005, 06:44:32 pm »
http://tools.devchannel.org/devtoolschannel/03/11/26/2218209.shtml?tid=24&tid=46

Does anyone know how to optimize the C::B compilation by using precompiled headers?

I'm tired of having to wait 10 minutes for each rebuild.

[Edit]

According to what I have read, every .h file you include can be precompiled, as long as no C (or C++) tokens are used before. So I was wondering if we could "transparently" support precompiled headers (GCC 3.4+ required) by adding them in the dependencies directory. If a header used by another header is modified, then delete the corresponding .gch file.

But I'm not exactly sure, I haven't ever used precompiled headers and i'm just learning the basics. Any expert in here?

Offline mandrav

• Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
    • Code::Blocks IDE
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 07:19:27 pm »
Tried to do that but it seems precompiled headers are a bit flakey, at least with gcc 3.4.2.
I can't recall the exact error message but was something like "fdopen: error opening file" or something. A little research showed that this is a bug of gcc-3.4.x when a file (#including a pre-compiled header) #includes a file which includes a pre-compiled header, or something. The funny thing is that C::B sdk build stopped with errors after compiling a dozen files, not immediately...

If anyone knows better about the subject, please enlighten us :)

Yiannis.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline tiwag

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 08:01:02 pm »
if you want to have **FAST** compiling and linking, you should build project-files for DigitalMarsCompiler or M$-VCTK (or VS)

RShadow

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2005, 12:18:19 am »
Quote from: mandrav