Author Topic: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory  (Read 4180 times)

Offline bnilsson

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 184
wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« on: October 21, 2006, 03:35:52 pm »
Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz
1GB RAM
MacOSX 10.4.8
CodeBlocks rev 3116
wxWidgets 2.6.3

I have created a wxSmith project using the wizard.
It builds and runs ok.
When I open wxsmith/MainFrame.wxs I see the "picture" in the layout segment(?) for a while and then it disappears. I see that CodeBlocks now takes over 2GB of virtual memory, and the project becomes extreemly sluggish. Swapping all the time. In fact, the whole system is very slow to respond.
Consequently, the project is not workable.

(testing some operations on the MainFrame layout anyway, being very patient, makes CodeBlocks eventually crash.)

Is this normal?

« Last Edit: October 21, 2006, 03:57:03 pm by bnilsson »
-- Ingnorance should not be taken for stupidity --

HW: PowerMac Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz, 1GB RAM OS: MacOSX 10.4.10 Compiler: powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2006, 03:54:03 pm »
Depends on what you mean normal ;)
wxSmith is under a redesign phase because it had some bugs like this.
So, it's normal that you 're seeing bugs in wxSmith because it's the "old" version. And before you ask, there is no new version to distribute...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline bnilsson

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 184
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2006, 03:59:17 pm »
Thanks, then I will not bother with it for the time being.
How will I know when it is closer to being operational?
-- Ingnorance should not be taken for stupidity --

HW: PowerMac Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz, 1GB RAM OS: MacOSX 10.4.10 Compiler: powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2006, 05:29:06 pm »
I believe the changelog will read something like "New wxSmith version. Horray!!!" ;).
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2006, 08:06:39 pm »
Wow, it seems that you're the first person who reported using wxSmith on MAC :) In fact I was worrying if it would even start on that machine. Does it show anything ? Or it sjust takes 2GB and hangs up C::B ?

Offline bnilsson

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 184
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2006, 11:02:52 am »
Well, it doesn't seem to be good for anything for the moment.
What should I call the layout area? It does not update properly once MainFrame.wxs is opened, the layout is shown once and then disappears.
I can switch between "layout" and "standard" without problem, but if I try to do something with the symbols att the bottom it starts swapping, and my beachball starts rolling (Windows equivalent would be the hourglass, I guess). 
However, If I try to select a "layout" symbol that does not apply, I get what I would think is a proper errer dialog ("This item already has a sizer, cannot add another one").
I was actually able to ad a few buttons to the template layout under the "standard" tab, but I just saw them by chance a few minutes later.
The layout is coming and going, and it is definitely not possble to adjust anything with the mouse. If you drag a corner handle, nothing happens, but next time you get to see the layout, the shape may have changed.

It could be that the functions are working in principle, but the graphics and memory management makes impossible to use. If this problem is Mac specific, I have no idea.

-- Ingnorance should not be taken for stupidity --

HW: PowerMac Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz, 1GB RAM OS: MacOSX 10.4.10 Compiler: powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1

Offline bnilsson

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 184
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2006, 11:07:12 am »
About "changelog": How come the latest entry is about one year ago? I think it should be more...

Changes for version 1.0-RC2
-------------------------------

2005-10-24  mandrav

   * Fixed wxWidgets templates

2005-10-24  byo_spoon

   * Added InitDialog event handler
   * Fixed some bugs related to event handlers
.
.
.
-- Ingnorance should not be taken for stupidity --

HW: PowerMac Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz, 1GB RAM OS: MacOSX 10.4.10 Compiler: powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2006, 12:23:05 pm »
The changelog is posted when a new official version is released.
1.0rc2 is way old.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2006, 03:21:05 pm »
I guess that Mac version of wxSmith will have to wait :( Actually I know where's the problem but I don't have any access to Mac. If anyone would like to help I could show exactly what code should be made Max-compatible (it's only one class but). But it could be really hard to make it working on Mac, I can't promise anything.

Offline bnilsson

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 184
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2006, 05:08:07 pm »
I can volunteer, if it is not too demanding.
If I get enough support it will be ok.
-- Ingnorance should not be taken for stupidity --

HW: PowerMac Dual PowerPC G5 2.3Ghz, 1GB RAM OS: MacOSX 10.4.10 Compiler: powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith in (MacOSX )rev 3116 takes 2GB memory
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2006, 05:54:20 pm »
I can volunteer, if it is not too demanding.
If I get enough support it will be ok.

Ok, I'll contact you on priv :)