Author Topic: TortoiseSVN plugin  (Read 24562 times)

Offline Jan van den Borst

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 99
TortoiseSVN plugin
« on: August 22, 2006, 04:42:05 pm »
I wrote a litte plugin for subversion version control using TortoiseSVN. Maybe it is of use for others???

(windows only)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Szabadember

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • That's me!
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2006, 01:43:00 pm »
What do i need to compile this plugin?  :(

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2006, 03:00:09 pm »
I wrote a litte plugin for subversion version control using TortoiseSVN. Maybe it is of use for others???

(windows only)

work nice , thanks  :D


maybe a setup dialog would be nice, to setup the path to TortoiseProc.exe,
( for those which don't have the TortoiseSVN\bin not in their PATH , i think it isn't installed by default )
also you could get the path from the registry for first setup, but a dialog to change if necessary.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2006, 03:04:39 pm by tiwag »

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2006, 03:05:32 pm »
What do i need to compile this plugin?  :(
you need to build CB itself from the svn sources (you need the CB sdk)

Offline kisoft

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 194
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2006, 08:27:02 am »
Thanx, very nice. I use this plugin successfull.
I modify this plugin for remove svn.exe using and adapt sources to new standart.
Now CBTortoiseSVN placed to my ContribPlugins.workplace.
Regards! 8)
OS: WinXPSP3
wxWidgets: 2.8.12
CodeBlocks: Master github cbMakefileGen plugin:
https://github.com/kisoft/cbmakefilegen

Offline orel

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 96
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 10:01:19 pm »
Hi,

i also modify the sources to adapt to the new cb sdk, but i don't know where to put the dll in order it's loaded into CB when it starts.

Maybe i missed something in CB docs or wiki but i can't figure what to do with the dll ?  i put it in  \share\CodeBlocks\plugins directory but i have no TortoiseSVN plugin in my plugin manager

It is also possible that i didn't modify well the TortoiseSVN plugin sources.

Maybe someone can post the new sources, working with the last nightly build or explain me?

Someone else could either post the dll directly, but i prefer to understand by myself.

Thanx !!!
windows XP SP2
mingw gcc 3.4.5
svn Code::Blocks and M$ Visual Studio 2005 and .NET to eat!! SVNInside plugin :http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,7063.0.html

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2173
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 11:00:13 pm »
... i put it in  \share\CodeBlocks\plugins directory but i have no TortoiseSVN plugin in my plugin manager


Each plugin contains a zip file by the plugin name in .../share/codeblocks. Within the zip file is a manifest.xml file. Look at how the other plugins have done this. For example, look at keybinder.zip

The plugin .dll goes into .../share/codeblocks/plugins



Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9496
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 11:03:33 pm »
Maybe someone can post the new sources, working with the last nightly build or explain me?
Here the are - modified and working with SVN trunk.
With regards, Morten.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2173
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 11:29:40 pm »
Maybe someone can post the new sources, working with the last nightly build or explain me?
Here the are - modified and working with SVN trunk.
With regards, Morten.

The manifest file is incorrect. It's name is not C::BTortoiseSVN but CBTortoiseSVN.
I believe it should read:
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<CodeBlocks_plugin_manifest_file>
    <SdkVersion major="1" minor="10" release="0" />
    <Plugin name="CBTortoiseSVN">
        <Value title="C::B TortoiseSVN" />
        <Value version="1.0" />
        <Value description="C::B TortoiseSVN" />
        <Value author="Jan van den Borst" />
        <Value authorEmail="" />
        <Value authorWebsite="http://www.codeblocks.org" />
        <Value thanksTo="Code::Blocks Development Team" />
        <Value license="GPL" />
    </Plugin>
</CodeBlocks_plugin_manifest_file>

Note line 4

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9496
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2006, 11:36:00 pm »
Code: [Select]
    <Plugin name="CBTortoiseSVN">
Ooops - you are right... Darn Copy&Paste... :-( ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2173
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2006, 01:25:07 am »
For those who would like to append the CBTortoiseSVN menu onto the Tools menu (taking up less real estate) changing the code after the "else" will do so.
See "CBTortoiseSVN::BuildMenu(wxMenuBar *menuBar)".


Code: [Select]
int ToolsPos = menuBar->FindMenu(_("&Tools"));

 if ( ToolsPos == wxNOT_FOUND )
 menuBar->Append(TortoiseSVN_submenu,_("TortoiseSVN"));
 else
 { //menuBar->Insert(ToolsPos,TortoiseSVN_submenu,_("TortoiseSVN"));
    wxMenu* pToolsMenu = menuBar->GetMenu(ToolsPos);
    pToolsMenu->Append(idCBTortoiseSVN, _("TortoiseSVN"), TortoiseSVN_submenu, _("TortoiseSVN"));
 }

}

//******************************************************************************

void CBTortoiseSVN::RemoveMenu(wxMenuBar *menuBar)
{
    //(pecan 2006/10/04)
    // It is not necessary to remove menu items and can cause a 3 to 10
    // second delay durling program termination
    return;

 wxMenu *menu = 0;

« Last Edit: October 05, 2006, 01:27:11 am by Pecan »

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2006, 05:14:56 pm »
For those who would like to append the CBTortoiseSVN menu onto the Tools menu (taking up less real estate) changing the code after the "else" will do so.

Keep in mind though that the Tools menu is recreated from scratch each time you modify the tools...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline orel

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 96
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2006, 05:29:26 pm »
Thanks everyone

I'm going to try that at the moment i'm at home...!
windows XP SP2
mingw gcc 3.4.5
svn Code::Blocks and M$ Visual Studio 2005 and .NET to eat!! SVNInside plugin :http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,7063.0.html

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2173
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2006, 07:07:26 pm »
This plugin is trying to execute something called TortoiseProc which I don't have in my TortoiseSVN distribution (XP).

What is it. And why is the plugin trying to execute it?

Edit: Found it.
It seems I have two TortoiseSVNs on my system. Now how did that happen?

Edit: Evidently this plugin requires both the TortoiseSVN gui *and* the command line Subversion version available on the system path.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2006, 07:37:32 pm by Pecan »

Offline orel

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 96
Re: TortoiseSVN plugin
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2006, 01:41:11 pm »
Soory guys to bother you but...

It seems that i can not make it work. I don't know what i am missing but nowhere i can see something about the plugin, i'm sure it's not even loaded.

However, i did all these things :

_ put CBTortoiseSVN.dll in \share\CodeBlocks\plugins of the freshly downloaded nightly build version. (that is revsion 3004)
_ created a zip file with the manifest.xml you guys have just post

And nothing appeared anywhere about the plugin, and the Code::Blocks debug message pane doesn't notice about it having been loaded or failed or ... existing

I must have missed a very big point, but which?

 :cry::cry::cry::cry:
it may helps :

WinXP SP2 on Centrino Duo : 1,6 gHz x 2

windows XP SP2
mingw gcc 3.4.5
svn Code::Blocks and M$ Visual Studio 2005 and .NET to eat!! SVNInside plugin :http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,7063.0.html