Author Topic: Making the TODO list smaller - help!  (Read 5614 times)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« on: June 27, 2007, 08:00:54 am »
Guys, i'm embarrassed, but I can't manage to resize the todo list.

If you try to resize the todo list, you can't resize it below a specific height. I've tried to change the parameters using SetBestFittingSize (or SetInitialSize in wx2.8.4), but it doesn't work.

Any hints?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 08:48:28 am »
src/plugins/todo/todolist.cpp:100
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 03:04:43 pm »
Thanks! :D

Edit: Now that we're at it, why did you remove the TODO list from the message manager? It was fine as it was... I think...

Hey! The todo plugin has a configure dialog. Why isn't it attached to the Environment settings????  :?
Edit: Ah, ToDo list hasn't been updated to use the new configuration environment... I'll do that.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 03:33:35 pm by rickg22 »

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2007, 03:46:43 pm »
Edit: Now that we're at it, why did you remove the TODO list from the message manager? It was fine as it was... I think...

Because TODOs are not messages...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 04:09:23 pm »
Well, in a way, they are... they are "reminder" messages :)

Anyway. I modified the lines you told me, but the minimum size doesn't change. Is there something else I should do?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2007, 07:51:51 pm »
Yes, try "View->Layout->Delete current".
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2007, 08:45:04 pm »
Thanks!

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2007, 01:56:32 am »
Yiannis, bad news. I tried that, but C::B said it couldn't delete the default Code::Blocks layout. Instead it asked me to reset to some default values. I did, and nothing happened. The Todo list kept blocking at the same minimum size.

It wasn't until I changed its pane name (todolistpane2 or something) that I could resize it to a decent minimum value. Is this a Code::Blocks bug?

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2007, 04:23:21 am »
I submitted a patch for the ToDo list. Additionally, it gives the user the __option__ (disabled by default) to put the ToDo list in the messages pane.
Please tell me what you think.

http://developer.berlios.de/patch/index.php?func=detailpatch&patch_id=2082&group_id=5358

Only one detail, if the ToDo is shown in the messages pane, the buttons are shown over dark grey instead of the normal light grey. Don't know why...

Offline gnewt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2007, 04:50:18 am »

Sounds like a nice idea :idea: to me, from a "screen real-estate" point of view.

I submitted a patch for the ToDo list. Additionally, it gives the user the __option__ (disabled by default) to put the ToDo list in the messages pane.
Please tell me what you think.

gn

Offline raph

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 242
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2007, 07:03:37 pm »
As I posted here I think it would be cool if wxAUI managed the tabs.
If the user could drag tabs out notebooks to create an own floating pane (and vice versa) we could let wxAUI and in the end the user decide about the layout.
So we wouldn't need to hardcode an option.

Regards
raph

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Making the TODO list smaller - help!
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2007, 08:18:52 pm »
Raph: We're about to release RC3 (a few weeks), we can't just change a whole thing without further testing, I'm afraid we'd have to wait until v1.0 is released to start making changes on this.

Tell you what. When I get home, I'll commit the patch that I have (it fixes other bugs, too), if nobody objects.
Edit: Done.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 03:43:59 am by rickg22 »