Author Topic: just a question about code completion  (Read 4886 times)

Offline mrpringle

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
just a question about code completion
« on: August 18, 2006, 02:41:46 am »
Hi,
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, and the includes from mingw, or whether it is too difficult to implement.

Thanks

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9496
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 08:12:29 am »
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, [...]
Well, it does already, see here:

What version (OS, C::B, wxWidets) are you using? (Please always include this information in your posts!)
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2006, 08:33:08 am »
Hi,
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, and the includes from mingw, or whether it is too difficult to implement.

Thanks

Have you enabled parsing of all include dirs?
Go to "Settings->Editor->Code-completion & symbols browser", switch to the "Parser" tab and make sure you have checked all three options.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2006, 09:07:14 am »
i think we need hotkeys for "local" and "global" mode in order to switch fast without usage of the Settings dialogs (horror)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2006, 10:20:36 am »
i think we need hotkeys for "local" and "global" mode in order to switch fast without usage of the Settings dialogs (horror)

I don't think so. It's a setting that you set and never touch it again.
Either you want full symbols parsing (happy with code-completion) or local symbols only (not so happy ;)).

Anyway, we 're going to change the defaults to "enabled" for all three settings.
The defaults are the way they are because, back then, the parser didn't even run in a thread. Globals parsing was a big slowdown at the time. That's not the case anymore though ;).
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline takeshi miya

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2006, 10:33:21 am »
Anyway, we 're going to change the defaults to "enabled" for all three settings.
The defaults are the way they are because, back then, the parser didn't even run in a thread. Globals parsing was a big slowdown at the time. That's not the case anymore though ;).

Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2006, 10:41:38 am »
Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:

That's exactly the point for changing the defaults, Takeshi :)
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline takeshi miya

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2006, 10:45:49 am »
Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:

That's exactly the point for changing the defaults, Takeshi :)

Just J/K. :mrgreen:

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2006, 11:03:58 am »
Done: default options changed for everyone.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline mdelfede

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2006, 11:09:57 am »
Done: default options changed for everyone.

Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?
For example, I have this code :
Code: [Select]

  bool Database_Impl::ReplaceObject(GatoCad::DbObject& Old, GatoCad::DbObject& New)
  {
    // first checks if old object belongs to the given database
    if(Old.   <--- Here should pop-up with members of Old variable

In my build it doesn't pop up. Do I miss something ?

Ciao

Max

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2006, 11:21:52 am »
Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?

Read this reply I posted in another topic...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline mdelfede

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2006, 11:51:14 am »
Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?

Read this reply I posted in another topic...

Ok, if I've well understood, the local stuff is on the way... Am I right ?
Anyway it's really impressive for now.

If I can drop a little suggestion, one interesting thing would be the ability to exclude specfied headers from parsing.
There are some headers (in Boost:: in particular) that are filled with about useless stuffs with regard to code completion.

Ciao

Max

Offline mrpringle

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2006, 02:51:49 pm »
here's from the 18th of august build, with default options, wxWidgets 2.6.3
I also did a clean install of codeblocks


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 20, 2006, 03:01:03 am by mrpringle »

Offline nzoltan

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: just a question about code completion
« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2006, 11:37:18 am »
Hi,

In nightly build (Aug 20), "Edit->Show call tip (SHIFT+CTRL+SPACE)" does not work.