Author Topic: how to make rpm for own distro of linux  (Read 8671 times)

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« on: July 24, 2006, 08:20:18 pm »
How do i make an rpm for SuSe 10. I want to make one of the nightly builds run on SuSe 10. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2006, 11:44:50 pm »
It's quite easy ;)
1. Download the svn sources (http://www.codeblocks.org/source_code.shtml)
2. run ./bootstrap and ./configure --enable-contrib
3. run make dist, this will create a .tar.gz with the sources.
4. move the source tar.gz as root to /usr/src/packages/SOURCES
    e.g. sudo mv codeblocks-trunk-r2779.tar.gz /usr/src/packages/SOURCES
5. start building the RPM with sudo rpmbuild -bb --target=i586 codeblocks.spec
6. This will create several packages in /usr/src/packages/RPMS/i586. These are:
  • codeblocks: main package
  • codeblocks-contrib: contrib plugins
  • codeblocks-devel: SDK headers
  • codeblocks-debuginfo: stripped debug information

Usually you need only the main and the contrib package. The rest is only needed if you need an precise debug output (debuginfo) or you want to write plugins (devel)
I will also update the wiki the next days (had no time yet).

Happy building and codeblocking  :D
Daniel
« Last Edit: July 24, 2006, 11:47:20 pm by daniel2000 »
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2006, 04:53:24 pm »
this is as far as i got:
[email protected]:~/cb/trunk> ./bootstrap
You should add the contents of `/usr/share/aclocal/libtool.m4' to `aclocal.m4'.
aclocal:configure.in:63: warning: macro `AM_OPTIONS_WXCONFIG' not found in library
aclocal:configure.in:64: warning: macro `AM_PATH_WXCONFIG' not found in library
configure.in: installing `./install-sh'
configure.in: installing `./missing'
src/plugins/astyle/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
configure.in:63: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_OPTIONS_WXCONFIG
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.
configure.in:64: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_PATH_WXCONFIG

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2006, 06:01:21 pm »
You need these packages to compile codeblocks: wxGTK-devel, zip, subversion, update-desktop-files, make, gettext, autoconf >= 2.5, automake >= 1.7, libtool >= 1.4, m4, intltool, gcc-c++ and libstdc++-devel (that's the full list ;)).
You haven't installed wxGTK-devel at least.
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2006, 06:06:50 pm »
I looked in yast2 for wxgtk-devel and it wasnt there
[EDIT] I tried building wxgtk from the wiki instuctions but i think i did somehing wrong  :(
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 06:16:14 pm by TeddyKrulewich »

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2006, 06:34:24 pm »
wxGTK-devel is in the base repository. Perhaps you searched case sensitive ?

EDIT: it's wxGTK not wxgtk ;)
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2006, 07:28:57 pm »
i dont have it as an option for installing. I just have wxGTK and wxGTK-compat

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2006, 07:53:46 pm »
It has to be there! :P
Do you use yast ? And do you use a mirror as installation source (perhaps it's broken) or the CDs/DVD ?
Try to add/replace with another mirror (SUSE Mirrors).

There has to be wxGTK, wxGTK-compat, wxGTK-devel, wxGTK-debuginfo and wxGTK-gl
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2006, 08:47:53 pm »
I do use yast and i install from 5 cds
edit:
I added a mirror instalation source and now have the packages
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 09:04:18 pm by TeddyKrulewich »

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2006, 10:05:51 pm »
i get an error message on step 5 but it seems like it is almost working :( also the stupid forum will not let me post the error message or attach a text file

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2006, 10:15:44 pm »
You can paste your error message to: http://rafb.net/paste/ and then post the link ;)
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2006, 10:17:33 pm »

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2006, 10:22:39 pm »
could you paste some more lines. That only shows that there is an error, but the error itself is some lines above ;)

EDIT: Do you use SUSE 10.1 ?
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2006, 10:26:34 pm »
i sort of use suse 10.1. It says suse 10.1 but it is actually suse 10.2 alpha 2

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2006, 10:32:57 pm »
new link lots of stuff to read but some got clipped off by konsole http://rafb.net/paste/results/D7xERH11.html

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2006, 10:37:58 pm »
i sort of use suse 10.1. It says suse 10.1 but it is actually suse 10.2 alpha 2
Ok, then it's won't compile without modifying the sources, because there are some (or only one) issues with gcc 4.1, where codeblocks don't compile. There's a thread with a work-around. Here is it: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27532#msg27532

EDIT: Modify the sources and go on with point 3 again :)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 10:40:21 pm by daniel2000 »
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2006, 10:53:10 pm »
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 11:01:31 pm by TeddyKrulewich »

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #17 on: July 25, 2006, 11:09:57 pm »
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
If it doesn't work installing gcc 4.0 is the only way to get it work (but killerbot uses 10.1 and the work-around worked for him). Some post under the work-aound post it is described (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27597#msg27597). It should work nearly the same with suse.

But I think you won't need this. The error you got has been the only one concerning gcc 4.1 ;)
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2006, 11:14:08 pm »
didnt you read the edit it said i think i got it working, and thanks a LOT!!!!!! You helped me when noone else would.
:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

edit:
also If they dont get someone building suse rpms i might see if there is a way i can build them for who ever is in charge of these things
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 11:16:04 pm by TeddyKrulewich »

Offline TheTuxKeeper

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • daniel2000
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #19 on: July 25, 2006, 11:24:11 pm »
didnt you read the edit it said i think i got it working, and thanks a LOT!!!!!! You helped me when noone else would.
:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Great. :D
edit:
also If they dont get someone building suse rpms i might see if there is a way i can build them for who ever is in charge of these things
killerbot wants to build suse rpms. But I think he hasn't got the time yet. But there will be suse builds ;)
Nightly builds for openSUSE

Offline TeddyKrulewich

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2006, 01:29:31 am »
Ir compiles but doesnt run right :(

EDIT:
How do i get an older version of gcc and install it?
« Last Edit: July 26, 2006, 01:56:05 am by TeddyKrulewich »

Offline mdelfede

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
« Reply #21 on: July 26, 2006, 07:47:28 pm »
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
If it doesn't work installing gcc 4.0 is the only way to get it work (but killerbot uses 10.1 and the work-around worked for him). Some post under the work-aound post it is described (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27597#msg27597). It should work nearly the same with suse.

But I think you won't need this. The error you got has been the only one concerning gcc 4.1 ;)

The workaround DON'T work, at least for me... It allows compilation of C::B, but scripting is broken, and with it half of functionality of C::B.
The only reliable way I've found is to install gcc 4.0.3 as an additional compiler and do with it.

Ciao

Max