Author Topic: New File shutdown  (Read 12676 times)

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
New File shutdown
« on: May 02, 2006, 05:42:40 pm »
Anyone ever have the problem of Codeblocks shutting down when new file is selected? I have a project with about 15 files in it, and everytime I select new file, I get a blank tab for 1 second, then CB just disapears.

If I select other projects in the workspace, it works fine. The project that crashes has a bunch of txt files added as 'others'. They are just ascii text with some data in them that I've been editing through CB instead of notepad.

I'm using RC2.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2006, 05:45:43 pm by Vampyre_Dark »
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline TDragon

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 943
    • TDM-GCC
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 05:52:48 pm »
I'm using RC2.
Even if others did have this problem, there'd be no reason to post about it. RC2 is so extremely far from being representative of the current state of C::B that this is almost a joke. You've probably already been told about and/or tried a nightly build, but just in case you missed it -- check 'em out.
https://jmeubank.github.io/tdm-gcc/ - TDM-GCC compiler suite for Windows (GCC 9.2.0 2020-03-08, 32/64-bit, no extra DLLs)

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2006, 06:02:39 pm »
I'm waiting for the one labelled RC3. ;) I don't feel like updating my CB constantly and resetting all my folders and stuff.

is there a known stable one I can stick with?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2006, 06:07:18 pm by Vampyre_Dark »
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2006, 06:40:17 pm »
I'm waiting for the one labelled RC3. ;) I don't feel like updating my CB constantly and resetting all my folders and stuff.

Hello,

I do not think you have to re-set your settings. I build C::B from time to time and my settings are the same. Give it a try. Download a nightly build, install it (not on the RC2) and give it a try.

Best wishes,
Michael

Offline TDragon

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 943
    • TDM-GCC
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2006, 06:49:42 pm »
is there a known stable one I can stick with?
Given the current revision (2398) was made April 30th, I'd say a build based on it would likely be stable. The most recent nightly is the one previous, and looking at the SVN log I only see a few minor bugfixes since 2390.

I've been using builds of various revisions for the past few months for light development and haven't had a single stability issue. The only reason I've found to update from one nightly to another is a cool feature or two.

Note that you will lose all of your settings after upgrading. However, this would also be the case upgrading from RC2 to RC3, and almost certainly won't be the case upgrading from any recent nightly to RC3.
https://jmeubank.github.io/tdm-gcc/ - TDM-GCC compiler suite for Windows (GCC 9.2.0 2020-03-08, 32/64-bit, no extra DLLs)

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2006, 09:33:36 pm »
Where do I find wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.dll? Google just brings me to threads in this forum.
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2006, 09:41:21 pm »
in the nightly builds, in the post of every nightly you can find the link.

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2006, 09:45:35 pm »
 :D I misread that my first time through. Thanks. It certainly looks a lot better on startup.
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2006, 09:48:45 pm »
damn right, the nightlies are very stable, enjoy !!!

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2006, 09:55:18 pm »
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2006, 10:08:06 pm »
My Workspace never opens now when I start the program up. It just says "Loading Workspace" and it never ends. Also, sometimes the taskbar doen't get a CB icon when it's not in focus.

Also, the plugins could be more descriptive. I don't know what some of them do. Their about dialog just lists their name.
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2006, 10:15:08 pm »
My Workspace never opens now when I start the program up. It just says "Loading Workspace" and it never ends.
Are there many projects in the workspace ? Big projects ?
Sometimes people complain about the codecompletion plug-in, might be interesting to turn it off, and see if it makes a difference.
This sounds like a real show stopper to me ...
Let's bug hunt ...

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2006, 10:28:51 pm »
The behaviour seems to change as I turn internatlization on and off. Then it just loads a default workspace which is empty.

I said out my workspace as VDARK_WORKSPACE.whatever, and I can just load it up. I have 5 projects in it, and they are not that big. Opening my symbols, I see that I have symbols for each project in my workspace I have opened up.  :shock: Also the view of which symbols to see in the list doesn't match what's actually listed. hmm..

When I have a compiler error the tooltip for it doesn't stay on my screen, it goes off the edge at exactly the same point as the error in the msg pane. Making it useless.

The program doesn't show up in the task bar if it's not in focus when it starts up.

Fold all on open works now. :)

Middle click to close is great. :)

The bloat from the right click menu is gone.

Is there a way to change my workspace into the default one?
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2006, 11:03:20 pm »
I confirm : "The program doesn't show up in the task bar if it's not in focus when it starts up. "
Could you file the bugreport on berlios please, thx.

When I have a compiler error the tooltip for it doesn't stay on my screen, it goes off the edge at exactly the same point as the error in the msg pane. Making it useless.
Tooltips for compiler errors ??? Never seen them, tell me tell me ....

Don't quit understand your workspace problem. Can you load each of the projects independently (so no workspace) ?

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2006, 11:12:53 pm »
I confirm : "The program doesn't show up in the task bar if it's not in focus when it starts up. "
Could you file the bugreport on berlios please, thx.

Yeah I have experienced this for a looong time. Never did report it though..... I probably should have....

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2006, 11:16:41 pm »
When you have compiler errors and you leave your cursor on it, a yellow tooltip pops up and it contains the error string. Since the Project thing goes all the way down now, the errors are cut off really short (@ 1024 anyways) and the tooltip is aligned with this new shorted window, so the error gets written right off the edge of the screen.

I'll file some error later when I get back.
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2006, 11:22:27 pm »
I confirm : "The program doesn't show up in the task bar if it's not in focus when it starts up. "
Could you file the bugreport on berlios please, thx.

Yeah I have experienced this for a looong time. Never did report it though..... I probably should have....
Not sure I really understand what you mean... it is not supposed to show in the taskbar during startup?
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2006, 11:26:40 pm »
start up CB : and make sure you have already another program open, directly after you started CB, focus back in the other app. In the meanwhile CB continues to start up --> notice how there's no "slo" in the taskbar for CB.

Where exactly should those "compiler error" tooltips show up ??

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2006, 11:28:11 pm »
eg : try as the other app  "FireFox", at the end of the test close Firefox and start Firefox again, focus back to CB --> Firefox will appear in the task bar

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2006, 11:39:19 pm »
When you have compiler errors and you leave your cursor on it, a yellow tooltip [...]

I'll file some error later when I get back.
I doubt that will be of any avail, since I don't think it can be fixed. The compiler errors are shown using a SimpleListLog (found inside SDK). If you look at SimpleListLog's sources, you see that we don't do anything to generate that tooltip, we only add items to a wxListCtrl. The tooltip is created "secretly" by wxWidgets, we're not involved at all.
Also, I wouldn't know what to change, since probably the only thing that could help would be to insert a line break, but you don't know at which position.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #20 on: May 02, 2006, 11:47:51 pm »
start up CB : and make sure you have already another program open, directly after you started CB, focus back in the other app. In the meanwhile CB continues to start up --> notice how there's no "slo" in the taskbar for CB.
Well, I don't know... but it looks exactly like it should?

"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2006, 01:04:34 am »
I think I was able to fix that myself by re-dragging the windows so that the message pane took up the whole bootom of the window again, and the messages don't start halfway across the screen.
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2006, 08:11:06 am »
now it also works on my pc's, in the taskbar, yesterday it surely did not  :shock:

Offline kkez

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • WinapiZone
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2006, 11:21:17 am »
I confirm : "The program doesn't show up in the task bar if it's not in focus when it starts up. "
Could you file the bugreport on berlios please, thx.

Yeah I have experienced this for a looong time. Never did report it though..... I probably should have....
Same here  :)

I found how to reproduce it:
1) start ONLY one program, eg firefox
2) start C::B
3) focus firefox
4) minimize firefox (this seems to bring back focus to C::B)
5) restore firefox

C::B's taskbar button shows for a sec, then disappear.

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2006, 12:59:53 pm »
I found how to reproduce it:
[...]
Works just fine for me. No matter what voodoo I try, there is nothing that looks queer.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #25 on: May 03, 2006, 01:10:20 pm »
I found how to reproduce it:
[...]
Works just fine for me. No matter what voodoo I try, there is nothing that looks queer.

Hello,

I have also tried and it works fine for me too.

Best wishes,
Michael

PS.: Interesting signature... :D
« Last Edit: May 03, 2006, 01:14:10 pm by Michael »

Offline Vampyre_Dark

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Hello!
    • Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #26 on: May 03, 2006, 02:52:08 pm »
Okay I think I understand what is going on now. Currently if I have some apps opened, and I open CB from my quick launch and go back to work in my other windows, CB doesn't go onto the task bar until it is completely finished all it's start up tasks. When it was trying to forever load my default workspace, it meant no icon at all because it never finished. Make sense?

I have opened and closed it some 30 times since yesterday, and this seems to be the case every time.

Right clicking in the workspace pane and saving my workspace did the trick to get the program to open it on startup. There should be a MAKE DEFAULT option in there.

« Last Edit: May 03, 2006, 02:54:53 pm by Vampyre_Dark »
C::B Wishlist
~BOYCOTT THE EVIL YELLOW BOXES~

Offline kkez

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • WinapiZone
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #27 on: May 03, 2006, 03:50:11 pm »
See this flash video.

If you minimize/restore firefox by double clicking on its taskbar button, everything is fine.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2006, 03:52:37 pm by kkez »

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #28 on: May 03, 2006, 04:07:14 pm »
CB doesn't go onto the task bar until it is completely finished all it's start up tasks.
But that is perfectly normal, it is supposed to do that :)
To avoid mindless overdraw, we do not show the main frame until everything is initialised. The splash screen does not show in the task bar, but this, too, is intentional.

If you look closely at Code::Blocks RC2 (which does not retain the main window), you see that the complete UI is redrawn at least 20 times during startup. wxWidgets is particularly braindead when it comes to event handling, especially regarding UI updates. In fact, I often wonder that despite this, Code::Blocks is still usable at all.

If you are in for a good laugh, set a breakpoint in some function handling UpdateUI events, and count how many times it is called if you just move your mouse a tiny bit. For example, if you move your mouse over the middle of the editor (no way near the menu bar), you can be lucky enough to get 6-8 UpdateUI events for the file and the edit menu. Luckily, you have plenty of CPU cycles to burn :)

Nota bene: Actually, this might be one reason for the high CPU load problems reported with Xorg.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9595
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #29 on: May 03, 2006, 04:26:18 pm »
See this flash video.
I can't reproduce it on my machine doing the same steps as you did. Anway: Just a wild guess: Could you try to disable the keybinder plugin (and maybe others...?!) and see if this changes something?
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline kkez

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • WinapiZone
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #30 on: May 04, 2006, 08:24:19 pm »
With wxwidgets 2.6.3, i no longer get this bug, no matter how many times i switch between applications. It also fixes bug #7357, so i'm currently using it :)
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 08:25:53 pm by kkez »

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: New File shutdown
« Reply #31 on: May 04, 2006, 09:01:31 pm »
With wxwidgets 2.6.3, i no longer get this bug, no matter how many times i switch between applications. It also fixes bug #7357, so i'm currently using it :)

That is correct. I documented this in the original bug report
 #6468
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 09:04:23 pm by Pecan »