Author Topic: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003  (Read 15242 times)

jozzzz

  • Guest
Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« on: April 07, 2006, 09:35:54 am »
  Good morning,  I'd want to Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003, but I have this both on disc F. Even if I enter path correct F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib etc., Codeblocks always use his header file , which hold in his directory.


What I be able to do, as to Codeblocks received setting  paths F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib?
Thank you P.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2006, 09:59:12 am »
What I be able to do, as to Codeblocks received setting  paths F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib?
Die you setup the compiler for your project correctly? Did you setup the PATH for the include files and lib files correctly? Anyway: If you provide your project with a specific lib this doesn't neccesarily mean that a specific header file is used. These are 2 things: compiling and linking. Both steps require a correct path to be setup. Could you send the full compiler log of a project of yours explaining better what you are doing?!
With regards, Morten.
BTW: Making words bold doesn't always increase readability... I guess we would have understand your post without bold phrases, too. ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2006, 10:51:49 am »
Hello,

You can have a look at this helpful C::B wiki article.

Best wishes,
Michael

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2006, 11:56:37 am »
Now path is OK  I think, but new message:
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'

But I insert path to Settings-Compiler-Programs-Additional paths - F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin\win64.
Why is this message? Thanx P.



This is Build log:
Project   : Win32 Application
Compiler  : Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 (called directly)
Directory : G:\docum_nty\PROJEKTY VC++\codeblocks_pokus\
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Switching to target: default
F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin\rc.exe  /I"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin"  /I"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin"  -fo.objs\main.res main.rc
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\bin\link.exe /nologo /subsystem:windows   /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\lib" /LIBPATH:"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib"  /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\lib" /LIBPATH:"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib" /out:"G:\docum_nty\PROJEKTY VC++\codeblocks_pokus\Win32GUI.exe"   "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\ComCtl32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\Gdi32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\User32.Lib"  "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\Gdi32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\User32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\ComCtl32.Lib" .objs\main.o  .objs\main.res   
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
 

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2006, 12:03:45 pm »
Now path is OK  I think, but new message:
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'

Have a look at here.

If you want more info then try a search with e.g., cvtres.exe :wink:.

Best wishes,
Michael

PS.: It is not necessary to use bold... :roll:


Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2006, 12:25:02 pm »
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'
If you want to compile Win32 applications you'll also most likely require the MS platform SDK. This will include cvtres.exe. This all is written in the WiKi. I really suggest you read this.
With reagrds, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2006, 01:45:02 pm »
Thanx for all ,  Codeblocks make program successfull. :).

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2006, 06:15:36 pm »
Another question:
What debuger I can use , when  I have integrated Visual Toolkit?

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2006, 07:49:39 pm »
What debuger I can use , when  I have integrated Visual Toolkit?
You are quite resistant to the WiKi, aren't you?! :?
C::B supports the CDB - the Microsoft debugger that ships with the free MS Debugging tools - directly.
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2006, 08:29:25 am »
MVC Toolkit 2003  does not contain   CDB.exe :)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2006, 11:52:48 am »
MVC Toolkit 2003  does not contain   CDB.exe :)
Yes, the MSVC Toolkit is not the same as the MS Debugging tools. Basically for (free) MSVC development you'll need 3 packages: The MSVC Toolkit (compiler, basic libs); the MS Platform SDK (all platform specific "deep level" stuff) and the MS Debugging tools for debugging purposes. Please note that this does not include MFC. Again: You should find this information in the WiKi, too.
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2006, 04:35:08 pm »
I download .NET.FRAMEWORK.SDK.1.1, but   does not contain   CDB.exe , where i can get this?  :?

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2006, 05:48:39 pm »
I don't use MSVT, but if there is no CDB.exe in .NET Framework SDK then it must be either somewhere here:
Debugging Tools for Windows
or here:
Platform SDK.
this space is for rent

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2006, 08:45:01 pm »
Well , i have F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\cdb.exe,but i get this messagebox:
The debugger executable i not set. To set it, go to "Settings/Configure plugins/Compiler",switch to the"Programs" tab and select the debuger program.

But Settings no contain "Configur plugins" :)
I do sett in program tabs:
Debugger: F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\cdb.exe
but if i press F8, i get messagebox -- The debugger executable i not set. To set it, go to "Settings/Configure plugins/Compiler etc.

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2006, 10:45:38 pm »
That's probably some legacy message pointing to wrong place (wrong since settings dialog redesign :))


First, navigate to Settings->Compiler and debugger->Programs .
Then either read what red label says (:lol:) or set debugger field to cdb.exe (no path!) and then go to Additional Paths tab and add F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (or whatever path is correct).

That should help.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2006, 10:56:12 pm by squizzz »
this space is for rent

rennie84

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2006, 09:02:03 pm »
squizz, I followed that, and the debugger seems to run, but it doesnt actually run my program :( Here is the debugger output:

Selecting target: Debug
Compiling: done
Adding source dir: D:\Source\snn\
Adding source dir: D:\Source\snn\
Adding file: snn.exe
Starting debugger: done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Debugger finished with status 1

And then it just finishes. Am I missing something?

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2006, 09:36:40 pm »
@rennie84 - right click on your project (project tree), click Build options and check if "Produce debugging symbols" (or similar - I don't use visual toolkit...) is checked. If it is not, check it and rebuild whole project and then try to debug again.
If this doesn't help, please post more details (version of C::B & operating system you use), so someone who actually uses Visual Toolkit can help you.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2006, 09:38:34 pm by squizzz »
this space is for rent

rennie84

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2006, 09:52:30 pm »
Yeah I tried that to no evail :p

Im using the latest nightly build with DMD as the compiler - Im actually using Code::Blocks for a D project.

Ive pointed the Debugger to dbc.exe from the Platform SDK.

The problem seems to be that my program isnt actually getting launched by the debugger :(

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2006, 10:04:24 pm »
only GDB and CDB as debuggers are supported !

rennie84

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #19 on: April 11, 2006, 10:07:48 pm »
oops sorry thats what I meant - im using cdb.exe

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #20 on: April 11, 2006, 10:41:45 pm »
cdb.exe is the one from MS isn't it ?
I always used GDB in CB so no idea how well it goes with cdb.
Can cdb do the D language ?

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #21 on: April 11, 2006, 10:49:37 pm »
Might be that C::B doesn't pass some compiler switches (like debug switch) for DMD compiler correctly...

You might try to set Compiler logging to "Full command line" (Settings->Compiler and debugger->Other) and see what parameters are used to invoke compiler. Compare how compiler calls look like when "Produce debugging symbols" property is set and when it is unset. If there is no difference between these two, it's possible that binary being produced by compiler is not suitable for debugging.
  (false alarm - this seems to work correctly)

Oh, and that
Quote
Can cdb do the D language ?
is also very good question...
« Last Edit: April 11, 2006, 11:15:34 pm by squizzz »
this space is for rent

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #22 on: April 12, 2006, 08:12:06 am »
 I am enter paths :
Debugger:F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\cdb.exe
Additional Paths: F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\

but no way