Author Topic: Mac Binaries  (Read 56598 times)

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #75 on: May 05, 2006, 03:10:28 pm »
Seperate packages mean double the work for packing.

What kind of packaging did you have in mind, for Code::Blocks ?

Offline Sonic McTails

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #76 on: May 05, 2006, 03:42:49 pm »
Seperate packages mean double the work for packing.

What kind of packaging did you have in mind, for Code::Blocks ?

I believe he means one PPC and one Intel binary, instead of having a single universal binary. It seems when cross-compiling for powerpc-apple-darwin, it doesn't properly build shared libraries, but I think I got it fixed.

Offline Sonic McTails

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #77 on: May 05, 2006, 04:42:45 pm »
Ugh, ok, I got it to compile as a universal binaries but the plugins and libraries got mutated. libtool obviously has no idea what to do :-/. Having universal binaries is going to be a lot of work unless either Code::Blocks add universal binary support, or C::B switchs build systems.

EDIT: Well, I got a universal binary, but plugins are completely broken -  it only loads if I move it out of the way. It appears the problem is the plugins are built as bundles instead of libraries, which are not universally supported, hence why it blows it. The build system going to require major work to make this work well.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2006, 04:56:42 pm by Sonic McTails »

Offline Trikko

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • e-nuts.net
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #78 on: May 07, 2006, 07:25:16 pm »
I've tried the latest mac binary. It works. I compiled also a simple wxWidgets project. By the way it has yet many bugs, have i to report them?
A. Fontana
My homepage
Do you need custom software? Do you want to work as freelancer?

Offline Game_Ender

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #79 on: May 07, 2006, 08:26:01 pm »
Maybe I am a little bit of newb here but I got wxMac to compile on an Intel iMac by just configureing with a configure option like "--enable-universal".  It worked without any problems, I was also able to compile the sample wxwidgets apps.  I also got another library, OpenSceneGraph to compile as universal by just including the proper "-arch" options in its makefiles.  From all I have been able to find GCC will do all the universal magic if you just pass it both "-arch ppc" and "-arch ix86" to it on both linking and compiling.  That is all I had to do OpenSceneGraph to get it as a universal library.

It also seems all these build headaches could be fixed if one of us just broke down and made an xcode project.  There will be more maintenance overhead but in the end I think it would be very cool if would could put together a Universal CodeBlocks.app for Mac users.  Although, I do hope the autotools can be made to place nice, less maintenance is always better.

Just a helpfull pointer: You must have the proper dev tools installed, there is a version on Apples website that includes non-universal builds of some libraries.  The dev tools that come with the iMac, on the CD/DVD should include universal versions of all the libraries.

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #80 on: May 07, 2006, 08:52:24 pm »
By the way it has yet many bugs, have i to report them?

Plugins doesn't work, that's a known bug. (no AngelScript support for Mac yet...)
Otherwise, reporting - or better yet, fixing ;-) - the bugs isn't a bad idea I think?

I think I'll upload another build later today, that has the GDC compiler activated:
http://gdcmac.sourceforge.net/

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #81 on: May 08, 2006, 08:59:04 am »
It also seems all these build headaches could be fixed if one of us just broke down and made an xcode project.  There will be more maintenance overhead but in the end I think it would be very cool if would could put together a Universal CodeBlocks.app for Mac users.  Although, I do hope the autotools can be made to place nice, less maintenance is always better.

I will not be using Xcode with Code::Blocks, other than importing .pbproj/.xcode projects.

However, I will try to build a universal (or at least X86) build with Mac OS X 10.4 soonish.

Offline Trikko

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • e-nuts.net
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #82 on: May 08, 2006, 12:27:53 pm »
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=321624

Why can't we convert function in that way? So it works for win and mac!
A. Fontana
My homepage
Do you need custom software? Do you want to work as freelancer?

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2257
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #83 on: May 08, 2006, 02:27:20 pm »
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=321624

Why can't we convert function in that way? So it works for win and mac!


Thanks, I've been looking for some info like that.

I tried the AS_MAX_PORTABILITY, but still get scripting errs.
Will look deeper into it unless afb or someone beats me to it.

Now... for some IBM assembler.....

pecan
« Last Edit: May 08, 2006, 02:30:51 pm by Pecan »

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #84 on: May 08, 2006, 04:36:45 pm »
I posted some thoughts in this AngelScript thread:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=371730

But I haven't gotten it to actually work for PowerPC yet,
just the same "basic" ones as AS_MAX_PORTABILITY gives

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2257
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #85 on: May 08, 2006, 04:50:17 pm »
I posted some thoughts in this AngelScript thread:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=371730

But I haven't gotten it to actually work for PowerPC yet,
just the same "basic" ones as AS_MAX_PORTABILITY gives


Just read the thread on gamedev...

So... if you're porting AS to ppc, I'll back off and do something else useful.

However, if you need a helping hand, just give some direction in which I can help you.

pecan

ps: maybe send me a makefile so I can check out my .cbp :D



Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #86 on: May 08, 2006, 04:57:12 pm »
So... if you're porting AS to ppc, I'll back off and do something else useful.

I was, and still want it to work, but I'm not working on it at the moment. (no time)

So if you are able to make it "go" with those temp hacks, feel free to continue...

Offline Trikko

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • e-nuts.net
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #87 on: May 08, 2006, 08:27:05 pm »
In my opinion it should be useful to convert all angelscript piece of software using second method, is the same as complexity (they say it need a wrapper that call a function, i think it just need a wrapper with function inside it, it's not more complex than first solutions).
A. Fontana
My homepage
Do you need custom software? Do you want to work as freelancer?

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2257
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #88 on: May 09, 2006, 05:09:32 pm »

Okay, I hadn't noticed this change - only that it didn't compile...

Will use this instead then:
Code: [Select]
#include "sdk_common.h"
#ifndef CB_PRECOMP
# include // headers we need here and that are part of sdk.h (sdk_common.h)
#endif
# include // headers we need here and that are NOT part of sdk.h (sdk_common.h)

OK ?

Anders --
what did you decide to do here for precomp headers.

Shall I use your diff file ??:
Code: [Select]
+
+#include "sdk_precomp.h"


Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #89 on: May 09, 2006, 05:47:22 pm »
what did you decide to do here for precomp headers.

Fix it :-)

http://developer.berlios.de/bugs/?func=detailbug&bug_id=7415&group_id=5358
It compiles a lot faster on Panther, when using the pre-compiled headers...

I'm not 100% sure how the headers are supposed to look, so I left the
current ones and didn't do any more patches or rearranging of them myself.