Author Topic: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly  (Read 3025 times)

Offline alexchen

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« on: February 19, 2020, 01:39:00 am »
I downloaded the source code for SVN repository and built from svn 11957 snapshot.  The 'Cut' and 'Paste' functions seem to work only partially.
I cannot copy strings from a comment block and paste it to regular code area, nor can I copy stuff from one tab window to windows in another tabs.
Has anyone experienced this problem?
Alex

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2020, 03:19:16 am »
Operating System info and wxWidgets version used to build CB.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline alexchen

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2020, 05:56:45 am »
I am running CentOS 7.7:
$ lsb_release -a
LSB Version:    :core-4.1-amd64:core-4.1-noarch:cxx-4.1-amd64:cxx-4.1-noarch:desktop-4.1-amd64:desktop-4.1-noarch:languages-4.1-amd64:languages-4.1-noarch:printing-4.1-amd64:printing-4.1-noarch
Distributor ID: CentOS
Description:    CentOS Linux release 7.7.1908 (Core)
Release:        7.7.1908
Codename:       Core

gcc 7.3.1
$ which gcc
/opt/rh/devtoolset-7/root/usr/bin/gcc
$ gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 7.3.1 20180303 (Red Hat 7.3.1-5)
Copyright (C) 2017 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

wxGTK 2.8.12
$ yum info wxGTK-devel
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, langpacks
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * base: mirrors.xtom.com
 * centos-sclo-rh: mirror.sfo12.us.leaseweb.net
 * centos-sclo-sclo: mirrors.xtom.com
 * epel: d2lzkl7pfhq30w.cloudfront.net
 * extras: mirrors.xtom.com
 * updates: mirror.sfo12.us.leaseweb.net
Installed Packages
Name        : wxGTK-devel
Arch        : x86_64
Version     : 2.8.12
Release     : 20.el7
Size        : 4.4 M
Repo        : installed
From repo   : epel
Summary     : Development files for the wxGTK2 library
URL         : http://www.wxwidgets.org/
License     : wxWidgets
Description : This package include files needed to link with the wxGTK2 library.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2020, 10:13:18 am »
How are you building this release? Have you tried to make an rpm (./configure; make dist; rpmbuild -ta codeblocks*.tar.bz2)?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline alexchen

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2020, 07:26:03 pm »
1. I follow the instructions in the link:  http://codeblocks.org/downloads/7 to down the latest version:
   Anonymous SVN access via HTTP protocol:
   Repository URL: http://svn.code.sf.net/p/codeblocks/code/trunk
   Command: svn checkout http://svn.code.sf.net/p/codeblocks/code/trunk
2. Install the pre-requisite package
   CentOS: wxGTK-devel
   Command: sudo yum -y install wxGTK-devel
3. Follow the instructions in the link:  http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_RPM_based_distributions#Build_the_RPM_package to build RPM:
   cd trunk
   ./bootstrap
   ./configure --disable-fortran
   make dist
   rpmbuild -ta codeblocks*.tar.*
4. Use the resulting RPMs under $HOME/rpmbuild/RPMS/x86_64

Offline sodev

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2020, 08:09:15 pm »
Did you try Cut and Paste by keyboard shortcuts or menu? I remember there have been problems related to keyboard shortcuts on GTK in the past, if it works by menu you are affected by that.

I am using CentOS 7.7 myself but with a selfbuilt wxWidgets 3.1.x against GTK3 and the stock gcc and don't have these issues.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2020, 08:58:30 pm »
I'm running 11925 or something similar and I have no problems with cut paste. I'll update tomorrow and I'll report if it doesn't work.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline alexchen

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2020, 09:59:34 pm »
I forgot to mention one thing.  I am running the CentOS with VMWare Workstation 15.5.1 for Windows.  I revert Code::Blocks from svn 11957 back to 11664, all built from the source, and the problem seems to be gone.

The most noticeable cut and past problem is 'cut/copy' from a comment block and paste to a code block. The operation sometime works but once it stops working, it does not recover.  Cut/Copy between tab windows suffers the same problem.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2020, 11:55:06 pm »
Can you try 11925 or something similar? 11664 is too old and there are too many changes. Do you have the keybinder plugin loaded and set? What happens if you disable it?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline alexchen

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Cut and paste does not seem to work properly
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2020, 01:19:23 am »
I was using 11957, which is newer than 11925, when I notices the problem.  I reverted back to 11664 just to avoid the problem.
I do not notice whether I have key binder plug-in.  I only use whatever is the default and do not configure it and I use the pop-menu from the mouse click to cut/copy/paste.  I can play with the keybinder when I have time.


Thanks.