Author Topic: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks  (Read 282 times)

Offline mq

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« on: January 28, 2020, 10:13:29 am »
Since my debugger didn't work, I deleted default configuration", while it still didn't, so I delete the new debugger I have created and reset the Default one, now, the menu item on CodeBlocks were all grey and disable. Is here any solution ?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6753
    • My Best Post
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2020, 02:57:18 pm »
Use an CB Project.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline mq

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2020, 03:00:20 am »
Is "Code::Blocks plugin" ?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6753
    • My Best Post
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2020, 03:04:26 am »
Is "Code::Blocks plugin" ?

No, it is not; a CB Plugin requires a CB Project to build it.
You have no CB Project open!

Edit: Debugger is a CB Plugin; your code is not.

Post a build log in Code Tags; if you want more feedback!

http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_How_do_I_report_a_compilation_problem_on_the_forums.3F

Tim S.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2020, 03:06:54 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6753
    • My Best Post
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline mq

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2020, 03:13:05 am »
I tried it, the menu active again,while, I want to know: COULDN'T I debug in Console application?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6753
    • My Best Post
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2020, 03:18:24 am »
I tried it, the menu active again,while, I want to know: COULDN'T I debug in Console application?

Debugging without a CB Project does not work to my knowledge!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline mq

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: debugger menu item disabled in CodeBlocks
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2020, 03:39:06 am »
Thanks for you gave me the link:http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Creating_a_new_project

it inspired me, I found the solution:settings-->compiler-->compiler settings-->compilers Flags-->debugging-->produce debugging symbols.  Marked this item, the menu active again.

The new question is:

Debugger name and version: GNU gdb (GDB) 8.1
Starting the debuggee failed: No executable specified, use `target exec'.
Debugger finished with status 0

Where to set this one?