Author Topic: Can't type curly brackets  (Read 2456 times)

Offline Stashue

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Can't type curly brackets
« on: February 12, 2019, 05:19:05 pm »
I'm new in code:blocks (I use an old mac) and I can't type curly brackets, even with the US keyboard (shift and bracket).
What can I do?
Thanks for the help!  :)

Offline sodev

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 326
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2019, 05:55:35 pm »
Do you have a mac keyboard attached our a regular pc one? IIRC these special characters are on different keys on macs than pcs, do a google about mac keyboard layouts.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2502
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 06:52:19 pm »
This seems to be a old mac issue:
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,8390.msg61928.html#msg61928
i think there is a faq somewhere that answers this question...

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2019, 07:37:48 am »
I can't type [ or { on Mac (10.14.3 Mojave and Spanish keyboard). I've been searching into this forum and there are some user reporting the same problem with French and Spanish keyboards on Mac but I haven't found the solution.

Does anybody knows how to fix it?
Thanks.

Note: I'm so sorry if I disturbed someone in my last message.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2019, 07:39:58 pm by the_incredible_frank »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2019, 10:45:24 am »
the_incredible_frank:
It would have be better if instead of spending the time to make your post full of animations you've spend the time reporting how to reproduce the issue?
Do you have the issue if you add an english layout and use it?
Which exactly is the layout you are using?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2019, 07:52:40 pm »
the_incredible_frank:
Do you have the issue if you add an english layout and use it?
Which exactly is the layout you are using?
I've just added different layouts and these are the results:
- OK: English: UK
- Bug: English: UK - PC
- OK: English: USA
- Bug: English: USA International - PC

I usually use Spanish - Spain ISO layout.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2019, 10:52:17 pm »
the_incredible_frank:
What version are you using? What is the keyboard model you have and even the machine mode?
For me using a self build version on mbp 2015 with bg keyboard all layout variants from your post work fine - I'm able to type both [ and {.

Here is the list of all variants of apple keyboards: https://support.apple.com/en-ke/HT201794
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2019, 07:49:54 am »
Spanish Apple Keyboard:


Code::Blocks 13.12 rev 0
SDK version: 1.19.0
« Last Edit: March 05, 2019, 07:51:53 am by the_incredible_frank »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2019, 08:47:43 am »
What happens if you tries some of the night builds provided recently?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2019, 08:53:18 am »
From the image it seems that braces should be typed with alt-gr key. Is this what doesn't work? Does any other alt-gr key work?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2019, 11:57:06 am »
From the image it seems that braces should be typed with alt-gr key. Is this what doesn't work? Does any other alt-gr key work?

Yes, AltGr+1st key to the right of "P" key doesn't works and AltGr+2nd key to the right of "L" key doesn't works too.

All AltGr+key works fine except { and [
« Last Edit: March 05, 2019, 12:05:28 pm by the_incredible_frank »

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2019, 12:12:25 pm »
What happens if you tries some of the night builds provided recently?
I've just installed the 09 February 2019 build (11562) night build and now I can type [ and {.

Thank you very much.

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2019, 12:58:07 pm »
Everything is OK and I can type [ and {.

I can build my C project (console application) with 0 errors and 0 warnings but when I try to run it I have some problems.

Build log:
-------------- Run: Debug in TestApp (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

Checking for existence: /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/bin/Debug/TestApp
Set variable: DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=.:
Executing: osascript -e 'tell app "Terminal"' -e 'activate' -e 'do script quoted form of "/Applications/CodeBlocks.app/Contents/MacOS/cb_console_runner DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH:. /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/bin/Debug/TestApp "' -e 'end tell'  (in /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/.)
Process terminated with status 0 (0 minute(s), 2 second(s))

Terminal window:
Last login: Tue Mar  5 14:06:39 on ttys000
'/Applications/CodeBlocks.app/Contents/MacOS/cb_console_runner DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH:. /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/bin/Debug/TestApp '
AirdeFrancisco:~ francisco$ '/Applications/CodeBlocks.app/Contents/MacOS/cb_console_runner DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH:. /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/bin/Debug/TestApp '
-bash: /Applications/CodeBlocks.app/Contents/MacOS/cb_console_runner DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH:. /Users/francisco/code/C/TestApp/bin/Debug/TestApp : No such file or directory

I think it's because Debugger executable path is empty.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2019, 02:15:39 pm by the_incredible_frank »

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2502
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2019, 08:51:00 pm »
Are you hitting the red (debug) or the green (run) arrow?
If you hit the green arrow the debugger does not matter.
Can you runt the compiled program from the command line?
There seems to be some new mac people around here in the forum, maybe they can help you...

Offline the_incredible_frank

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2019, 02:10:34 pm »
Are you hitting the red (debug) or the green (run) arrow?
If you hit the green arrow the debugger does not matter.
Can you runt the compiled program from the command line?
There seems to be some new mac people around here in the forum, maybe they can help you...
I use Build >> Run.
The compiled program doesn't run but it's created in bin>debug ant it runs perfectly.


Offline Krice

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 130
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2019, 05:01:03 pm »
I can type them with current OSX release version, although my keyboard is finnish/nordic. OSX version is high sierra. What prevents me from doing anything with C::B in OSX is just how buggy it is. For example if you try to change the font size of editor it crashes. Everything crashes it. Not to mention how bad OSX is as dev platform, that's why no one is programming in it.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2502
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2019, 06:50:55 pm »
Have you tried one of the nightly builds for mac? Do they also work so poor?

Offline Krice

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 130
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2019, 03:41:08 pm »
Have you tried one of the nightly builds for mac?

No, because I'm Apple user. I don't know how to build anything from source, that's for linux guys. I wish Apple had gone some other way than unix based OS, because everything is so hard for programming. It's like you can't have everything, you can't have easy user experience in software/regular OS use -and- easy programming platform; that part had to be difficult in OSX.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2502
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2019, 05:54:30 pm »
Quote
No, because I'm Apple user. I don't know how to build anything from source, that's for linux guys

There are prebuild packages for OS X...

http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,23158.msg157729.html#msg157729

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2019, 09:13:28 am »
Krice: What version of C::B are you using? And please don't derail topics. This one is for braces not for stability problems on macOS!
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12020
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2019, 09:27:13 am »
@the_incredible_frank: This is a known problem. Starting a program in a terminal has change in not so recent macOS versions and we haven't updated our code. So at the moment you cannot start and inspect console applications on macOS. Sorry.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Krice

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 130
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2019, 02:12:35 pm »
Krice: What version of C::B are you using? And please don't derail topics. This one is for braces not for stability problems on macOS!

The release version which seems to be 13.12 for OSX. Just a little bit more derailing: maybe you could release "official" development versions like once a month so regular people could test development versions, not just those who can go through the difficult task to compile them. I really don't want to install development version from some random guy's google drive, it just doesn't sound that safe.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6644
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type curly brackets
« Reply #22 on: March 22, 2019, 03:47:17 pm »
Are you hitting the red (debug) or the green (run) arrow?
If you hit the green arrow the debugger does not matter.
Can you runt the compiled program from the command line?
There seems to be some new mac people around here in the forum, maybe they can help you...
I use Build >> Run.
The compiled program doesn't run but it's created in bin>debug ant it runs perfectly.

If you were on Linux, I would suggest verifying the terminal setting are correct in CB.
Also, does the non debug target run without problems in CB?

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org