Author Topic: Cannot build/run code  (Read 4476 times)

Offline spiccato

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Cannot build/run code
« on: September 05, 2018, 11:03:48 pm »
Just got Code::Blocks, running it on linux mint. Every time I try to run the code it just gives me the message "It seems that this file has not been built yet. Do you want to build it now?"  and when I click yes it just repeats it.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline spiccato

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2018, 11:28:46 pm »
Yes, I have the G++ compiler.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2018, 11:29:47 pm »
Post the build log!
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline spiccato

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2018, 11:35:55 pm »
Code
Nothing to be done (all items are up-to-date).

Checking for existence: /home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2018, 11:37:03 pm »
READ THE LINK I POSTED!
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2018, 11:57:13 pm »
Also, spaces in the path can sometimes cause problems.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline spiccato

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2018, 12:36:52 am »
Build log:
Code
gcc   -c "/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1.c" -o "/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1.o"
g++  -o "/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1" "/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1.o"   
Process terminated with status 0 (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
0 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
 
Checking for existence: /home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1
Executing: xterm -T '/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1' -e /usr/bin/cb_console_runner "/home/usr/Untitled Folder/Untitled1" (in /home/usr/Untitled Folder)
Process terminated with status -1 (0 minute(s), 2 second(s))
 

This is when I run the code.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2018, 01:36:32 am »
do you have xterm installed?

if not you can change the default terminal in Settings->environment->Shell to run commands in...

Or you install xterm...

Offline spiccato

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot build/run code
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2018, 01:41:38 am »
That was the problem, thank you so much!