Author Topic: Can't type in Code::Blocks  (Read 727 times)

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Can't type in Code::Blocks
« on: May 12, 2018, 08:11:41 pm »
I recently reinstalled Code::Blocks after previously having it on my computer.  The problem is that after the install, I can't type in the code window at all.  I hate to bother the people on this forum but I'm not sure what to do.

I'm using Windows 10 on PC.

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6240
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 09:49:52 pm »
Is the code window visible?

If you click on the code window, does the cursor show up blinking in the window?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2018, 09:51:08 pm »
The code window is visible, but clicking on it does nothing, including no cursor.

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6240
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2018, 03:34:58 am »
Try bringing up a new code window.

Menu "Settings"
Select "Edit startup script"

NOTE: Do not edit this script file!

Does the cursor show up in this window?

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2018, 03:53:27 am »
I got a popup window saying:

A script is trying to execute a privileged command:

Operation: COPYFILE

C:\Program Files(x86)\CodeBlocks\share\codeblocks\scripts/startup.script -> C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\CodeBlocks\share\codeblocks\scripts/startup.script

(then it has a dropdown menu that says "Choose your action:")

1) DENY execution of this command
2) ALLOW execution of this command
3) ALLOW execution of this command for all scripts from now on
4) Mark this script as TRUSTED for this session
5) Mark this script as TRUSTED permanently

then it says:

"Scripts may contain malicious code so by default you are asked before a privileged command is allowed to execute.  Only allow execution of this command if you trust the source of the script or are confident enough that the above command is harmless to your system.

If you mark this script as 'trusted' you declare that you trust this script and explicitly allow it to execute privileged commands.  You should only trust scripts that you wrote yourself or if they come from a trusty source."

Not sure what to do at this point.

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6240
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2018, 04:09:38 am »
I have no idea why what happened to you happened.

Maybe, someone else will know.

Edit: I would try option 2) ALLOW execution of this command

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2018, 11:50:09 pm »
Could it be caused by a computer virus?

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6240
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2018, 11:55:28 pm »
Could it be caused by a computer virus?

Very unlikely since it is a normal CB prompt; but, I have never seem them happen at this point.
I am guessing a Windows Permission issue; as, in I have more rights or set something different in the past.
It also, could be a memory issue on my part and I okayed the message many months or years ago.

Tim S. 
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2018, 11:15:58 pm »
Thank you for your help nonetheless.

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2018, 09:24:35 am »
Are you sure you are in the code-editor, bot just an empty frame ?
How did you open it ?

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2018, 05:49:27 pm »
Sorry for the long delay for my reply.  I didn't realize anyone else had responded.  I am opening it by double-clicking on the Code::Blocks icon on my desktop.  I CAN type in the "Logs & others" box, but not the code window itself, if that helps clarify the problem.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10891
    • Travis build status
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2018, 08:51:10 pm »
Can you show a screenshot? What version have you installed?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline allenlswain

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2018, 08:42:01 pm »
Here's a screenshot.  Hopefully it gives some clarity.

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6240
    • My Best Post
Re: Can't type in Code::Blocks
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2018, 09:05:40 pm »
Yep, You need to add a file to your project or open a file in your project before you can edit a file in your project!

Edit: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Creating_a_new_project

Tim S.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 09:22:37 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org