Author Topic: QtWorkbench plugin  (Read 176416 times)

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #120 on: May 05, 2007, 06:23:41 pm »
I added binary releases:
http://code.google.com/p/qtworkbench/downloads/list

Go to Plugins->Manage Plugins->Install New and select the file you downloaded. Restart c::b and voila.You can find one that is working with nightly build of 03/05/2007 for sure (and probably with earlier ones).
« Last Edit: May 13, 2007, 10:30:36 pm by yop »
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

Offline H0LL0

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #121 on: May 09, 2007, 10:25:11 pm »
first big thx, i tried to compile myself, but i failed cause i couldnt find older versions of xwidgets :)

is it possible to single step / set breakpoints / read variables?

the rebuild, clean and distclean options dont work, something wrong with my settings?
Code: [Select]
mingw32-make.exe: *** No rule to make target `cleansub-Debug'.  Stop.

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #122 on: May 10, 2007, 08:56:54 pm »
Try to avoid using more than one targets if you need debuging facilities.
Go to the make options of your project and change "make clean$target" to "make clean".
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

b_coded

  • Guest
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #123 on: May 13, 2007, 12:18:50 pm »
Hi yop,
Thanks for your plugin. I noticed it is broken under the C::B builds rev 3948 and 3960.
If you have time to catch up with the C::B builds, it would be great.

Wim B

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #124 on: May 13, 2007, 10:28:58 pm »
OK done. That's why I didn't want to upload a binary release before a stable c::b one. The old(er) release is still there for any one interested. You just have to select "All downloads" to see it on the list as I marked it as deprecated. Again this binary release had quite quite a few downloads considering that there are many alternatives for Qt development. You really like Code::Blocks huh? Maybe I should freeze the rest of my projects I am messing around with and pick it up again... It's wx and C++ time again :-) let's see what I can remember :-D
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

b_coded

  • Guest
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #125 on: May 16, 2007, 09:39:04 pm »
Thanks for the update, yop  8)

Since I am rather new to C::B and Qt, it toke me a while to get things to work.
I now use the following steps to create a new Qt project. Maybe it can help other newcomers.

Directly after creating a new Qt project within C::B:

  • Create the subdirs Debug and Release under the project dir. This needs to be done outside C::B, but you do not need to leave C::B, nor close the project.
  • Enable using a custom makefile: Project - Properties (leave first drop down on Project settings), check "This is a custom Makefile"
  • Set some make options for the entire project: Project - Build options (leave the project selected in the left box) - 2nd dropdown '"Make" options'
    Clean project/target: $make -f $makefile clean
    Similar for Dist-clean project/target.

The procedure works, but maybe things can be done simpler. Give me a (yell) reply if this is the case.

yop: would it be possible to include any of these steps in the plugin?

Wim B

Offline bfr

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #126 on: May 17, 2007, 04:23:28 am »
This looks awesome - this is exactly what I need!

Except, I'm having trouble with it.  I'm using Qt 4.2.3 on Windows XP and used the Windows installer.  I get "The QTDIR variable is not set.Please check your Qt installation"

What should I do?

Offline Mayler

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #127 on: May 17, 2007, 06:29:30 am »
Go My Computer -> Properties -> Advanced Tab -> Environment Variables and add the QTDIR key with C:\Qt\4.2.3 or where you installed it.
?

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #128 on: May 17, 2007, 11:06:13 pm »
@b_coded: I generally choose to create a simple console project and use the Qt Workbench to generate my targets but your approach is just fine as well. If I need more than one targets I add the respective folders. For the clean / distclean problems you mentioned I haven't thought of anything yet.

@bfr: QTDIR is a leftover from Qt 3.x. I am working on a configuration dialog to set the Qt installation path, so QTDIR envar won't be checked anymore.
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

Offline bfr

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #129 on: May 17, 2007, 11:37:13 pm »
OK.  I'm so glad you are made and are continuing to work on this project.   :)

Just to be sure, I would put this in the "System Variables" Path variable, not the "User Variables for Owner" PATH variable, right?

Offline Mayler

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #130 on: May 18, 2007, 12:04:55 am »
that's right... One time user variable didnt worked for me.
?

Offline bfr

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #131 on: May 19, 2007, 12:32:59 am »
Cool.  I set up the QTDIR variable and build the default Qt program that Code::Blocks generate.  But, when I tried to build the program I originally was having problems with (which I was told was a problem with MOC not being run), I still get the following errors:

Code: [Select]
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x68):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x6f):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0xdf):: undefined reference to `MainWindow::staticMetaObject'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x17f):: undefined reference to `MainWindow::staticMetaObject'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x3c8):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x3cf):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x444):: undefined reference to `MainWindow::staticMetaObject'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x4ec):: undefined reference to `MainWindow::staticMetaObject'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x77e):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x785):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x7e1):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
objReleasemain.o:main.cpp:(.text+0x7f5):: undefined reference to `vtable for MainWindow'
:: === Build finished: 12 errors, 0 warnings ===

Here is a link to the code (and by the way, I'm only building a Release target).

Is there something wrong with my code?  Or is this a problem with QtWorkBench?  Or did I not configure QtWorkBench properly?  In the "Qt Project Options" menu as part of QtWorkBench, I have "Release" checked under "Build Mode" - "Qt" checked under "Requirements" - "Core" and "Gui" checked under "Modules to Load" - and I have C:\Qt\4.2.3\bin as my directory for the moc files, uic files, and rrc files.

Offline Mononofu

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #132 on: May 26, 2007, 11:17:11 am »
I've also a problem with this plugin. It compiled properly (Linux + C::B from 23. 5.), but when I copy the .zip and the .so file in the share/codeblocks and share/codeblocks/plugin/ directories, I always get this error when starting Code::Blocks:
[11:14:54.724]: ERROR: /home/mononofu/.codeblocks/share/codeblocks/plugins/libqtworkbench.so: not loaded (missing symbols?)

What am I doing wrong?

greets, Mononofu

PS: I used the sources from the SVN.

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #133 on: May 26, 2007, 12:54:46 pm »
Be patient. I hadn't touched the plugin for ages. I 'm changing the parser, adding a configuration dialog and the way that .pro are stored and qmake invoked. It' ll take a few days, but I think it 'll become experimentally usable under all setups. You 'll be even able to debug multiple targets :-). My thoughts:
  • Parser that doesn't rely on identifiers. It will be a small simple one to start with
  • 1 .pro file per target, saved in the upper level project directory (bloated but will allow debugging multiple targets as it will match to the way c::b expects Makefile based builds to act)
  • The build procedure will be invoked by the c::b build menu entries
  • You will have to explicitly set the build method to Makefile based
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: QtWorkbench plugin
« Reply #134 on: May 26, 2007, 01:03:17 pm »
[11:14:54.724]: ERROR: /home/mononofu/.codeblocks/share/codeblocks/plugins/libqtworkbench.so: not loaded (missing symbols?)
Byo was reported with the same thing some time ago for wxSmith. I don't know how he solved this, I 'll ask when we get there :-)
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.