Author Topic: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed  (Read 3497 times)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5109
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #30 on: August 15, 2018, 08:52:43 am »
It is better to rebuild the whole codeblocks.

For the wx-config check the help of the cb's configure script. There is an option which allows you to select the exact binary you want to use.
Thanks for the help! Yes, there is an option to set the wx-config path.

I now build a release version of wx 3.0 branch, then I build C::B against this wx library.
Now, the result C::B can debug, so the hang issue does not happens in this combination;)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11199
    • Travis build status
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #31 on: August 15, 2018, 01:59:57 pm »
Probably you could do a bisect on the wx's master branch to see where the issue started to happen and post a bug report.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5109
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #32 on: August 17, 2018, 02:44:28 am »
Probably you could do a bisect on the wx's master branch to see where the issue started to happen and post a bug report.
This is a huge task for me, so I won't plane to do this.  ;)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5109
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #33 on: August 17, 2018, 02:55:54 am »
BTW, under my ubuntu 14, I see that the dialog background is black, and text is gray, see the image blew, quite ugly.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5109
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #34 on: October 26, 2018, 10:00:48 am »
Question: what is the way to "build" the C::B if the source code get updated?

Today, I have run the "git pull --rebase" to update the C::B's source code to the latest revision under Ubuntu 14.
But when I switch to the build dir, and run the "make" command, I see some error message:

Code: [Select]
zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$ make -f Makefile
/bin/bash ./config.status --recheck
running CONFIG_SHELL=/bin/bash /bin/bash ../configure --prefix=/home/zyh/code/cb-wx30-install/ --with-wx-config=/home/zyh/code/wx30branchinstall/bin/wx-config --no-create --no-recursion
configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --with-wx-config
checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking whether configure should try to set CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS/CPPFLAGS/LDFLAGS... yes
checking whether to enable debugging... no
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... no
...
...
...
checking whether to build the foreign projects importer plugin... yes
checking whether to build the scripted wizard plugin... yes
checking whether to build the to-do plugin... yes
checking whether to build the abbreviations plugin... yes
checking whether to keep prebuild windows dll's in dist-tarball... yes
checking whether to integrate fortran-plugin in dist-tarball... yes
checking whether to use gtk-notebook as default notebook... yes
checking which (if any) contrib plugins to build... none
checking if the compiler supports precompiled headers... yes
../configure: line 20785: AM_OPTIONS_WXCONFIG: command not found
../configure: line 20786: syntax error near unexpected token `2.8.12,'
../configure: line 20786: `AM_PATH_WXCONFIG(2.8.12, wxWin=1)'
make: *** [config.status] Error 2
zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$

I have such environment variable:
Code: [Select]
zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$ wx-config --list

    Default config is gtk3-unicode-3.0

  Default config will be used for output

zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$ update-alternatives --config wx-config
There is only one alternative in link group wx-config (providing /usr/bin/wx-config): /home/zyh/code/wx30branchinstall/bin/wx-config
Nothing to configure.
zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$ echo $ACLOCAL_FLAGS
-I /home/zyh/code/wx30branchinstall/share/aclocal
zyh@zyh:~/code/codeblocks-git/codeblocks_sf/build-wx30$

So, do I have do a clean rebuild? (for a clean rebuild, I mean I have to run bootstap, then configure, then make)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline kipade

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Bootstrap with no wxWidgets packet installed
« Reply #35 on: November 12, 2018, 01:14:18 pm »
I think you specify the env variable ACLOCAL_PATH to where you located the wxwin.m4, your configuration would be ok.