Author Topic: Not possible to change the resource file extension  (Read 470 times)

Offline omlk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Not possible to change the resource file extension
« on: January 23, 2018, 05:56:50 pm »
Hi

I do not understand why it is not possible to change the resource file extension to the resource extensions in the extended resource settings and why the extension is not by default as .obj or .o




-------------- Clean: Release in sdl_samples (compiler: MinGW-W64 Compiler)---------------

Cleaned "sdl_samples - Release"

-------------- Build: Release in sdl_samples (compiler: MinGW-W64 Compiler)---------------

x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc.exe -Wall -m64 -O2 -Wall -m64 -march=athlon64 -std=c11 -I..\..\IDE\codeblocks-16.01mingw-nosetup\MinGW64\mingw64\include\sdl2 -I..\..\IDE\codeblocks-16.01mingw-nosetup\MinGW64\mingw64\include\sdl2 -IE:\Install\0_PROGRAMING\C\lib\SDL2-2.0.7\x86_64-w64-mingw32\include\SDL2 -c C:\sdl\main.c -o obj\Release\main.o
GoRC.exe  /machine X64  /fo C:\sdl\obj\Release\res.obj C:\sdl\res.rc
GoRC.Exe   Version 1.0.1.0 - Copyright Jeremy Gordon 1998-2013 - JG@JGnet.co.uk
Output file: C:\sdl\obj\Release\res.obj format: X64
GoRC.exe  /machine X64  /fo C:\sdl\obj\Release\resource.obj C:\sdl\resource.rc

GoRC.Exe   Version 1.0.1.0 - Copyright Jeremy Gordon 1998-2013 - JG@JGnet.co.uk
Output file: C:\sdl\obj\Release\resource.obj format: X64
x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc.exe -L..\..\IDE\codeblocks-16.01mingw-nosetup\MinGW64\mingw64\lib -L..\..\IDE\codeblocks-16.01mingw-nosetup\MinGW64\mingw64\lib -LE:\Install\0_PROGRAMING\C\lib\SDL2-2.0.7\x86_64-w64-mingw32\lib -o bin\Release\sdl_samples.exe obj\Release\main.o  obj\Release\res.res obj\Release\resource.res -m64 -lSDL2 -lSDL2main -s -m64 
C:\sdl\main.c: In function 'WinMain':
C:\sdl\main.c:34:10: warning: variable 'drawing' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
     bool drawing = false;
          ^~~~~~~
x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc.exe: error: obj\Release\res.res: No such file or directory
x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc.exe: error: obj\Release\resource.res: No such file or directory
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minute(s), 4 second(s))
2 error(s), 1 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 4 second(s))
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 06:20:18 pm by omlk »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10556
    • Travis build status
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2018, 08:44:31 pm »
Why do you want to change it? Why do you want to use obj or o?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline bobsadino

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2018, 02:53:26 am »
There is no problem  whatsoever if u change the fucking extension

an extension can be fucking anything

What is matters is the format

 format may be ‘res’, ‘rc’, or ‘coff’

-O to change to desired format

Holyshit! And why the hell u throw rc.exe(microsoft fucking visul studio) flags to WindRes

Thats Why u get .RES lol
« Last Edit: January 24, 2018, 03:48:40 am by bobsadino »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10556
    • Travis build status
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2018, 10:08:56 am »
@bobsadino:
Why are you cursing?
Why aren't you explaining your requests with details, so we could make a decision if they are valid or not?
Until you change your behavior your requests will be ignored (at least by me).

And you're even not the original poster
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9447
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2018, 08:01:28 am »
Goto settings -> compiler -> Other settings
Click "Advanced options..."
Select "Compile Win32 resource files"
Adjust as you like.

Be careful. Not knowing what you do exactly in the advanced options may screw the compiler framework and make C::B unusable.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline omlk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2018, 06:08:43 pm »
Goto settings -> compiler -> Other settings
Click "Advanced options..."
Select "Compile Win32 resource files"
Adjust as you like.

Be careful. Not knowing what you do exactly in the advanced options may screw the compiler framework and make C::B unusable.

I did, but the problem is that there is a variable that substitutes all resource files(if is res1.rc, res2.rc ...) with an extension .res, which as I pointed out above, does not fit me.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 01:24:41 am by omlk »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10556
    • Travis build status
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2018, 07:23:55 pm »
omlk:

Why do you want to change it? Why do you want to use obj or o?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline omlk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2018, 01:32:33 am »
omlk:

Why do you want to change it? Why do you want to use obj or o?

I showed that I have a problem and in order to solve it I asked why there is a prohibition on changing the resource file extension, but instead of answering and helping, I have to explain something else. The information in the first publication and the next is quite enough for professionals to understand the essence of the problem. If you do not belong to the professionals or developers of the editor - please do not ask unnecessary questions.

I do not want to offend anyone - I'm trying to help myself and also developers make the editor more versatile.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10556
    • Travis build status
Re: Not possible to change the resource file extension
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2018, 02:05:18 am »
So you want to turn this discussion personal, fine, I won't participate.
Until I get an answer to my questions you're getting ignored!

You have the code, so you can change it to your liking.
Just keep in mind that you'll have to answer these same questions, if you decide to provide a patch and want it included in the official version. ;)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]