Author Topic: I cant compile resources on codeblocks  (Read 4241 times)

Offline bobsadino

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« on: January 23, 2018, 04:15:37 pm »
Execution of 'windres.exe   -J rc -O res -i resource.rc -o obj\Debug\resource.res' failed

I have checked Toolchain executable, resource files, etc

Anyone know the solution or work around like how i can get windres log so i can know how to fix this stupid shit

im using windows 7
 
Codeblocks 16.01
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 05:19:23 pm by bobsadino »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2018, 04:48:42 pm »
What compiler? Name, version, and what site built it?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline bobsadino

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2018, 04:52:56 pm »
Microsoft Visual Studio 2010

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2018, 05:33:27 pm »
Post a build log!
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_How_do_I_report_a_compilation_problem_on_the_forums.3F

Why are you using GCC command to compile resource files?
Instead of using "rc.exe" command as I am guessing is normal?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline bobsadino

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 06:10:40 pm »
Because Microsoft Visual studio 2010 Compiler is bad
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/7dz62kfh.aspx

see https://stackoverflow.com/questions/12267158/failure-during-conversion-to-coff-file-invalid-or-corrupt


i dont know, i try to add flag on linker /incremental:NO but still it doesnt work

i will get update tomorrow but i can't wait to see my app working today
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 06:18:01 pm by bobsadino »

Offline bobsadino

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: I cant compile resources on codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2018, 06:14:53 pm »
-------------- Build: Release in miner (compiler: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010)---------------

cl.exe /nologo /W3  /Ox /DNDEBUG    /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0A\include" /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include" /IF:\ /c browser.cc /Foobj\Release\browser.obj
browser.cc
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\xlocale(323) : warning C4530: C++ exception handler used, but unwind semantics are not enabled. Specify /EHsc
browser.cc(174) : warning C4996: 'strcpy': This function or variable may be unsafe. Consider using strcpy_s instead. To disable deprecation, use _CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS. See online help for details.
        C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\string.h(105) : see declaration of 'strcpy'
browser.cc(199) : warning C4996: 'strcpy': This function or variable may be unsafe. Consider using strcpy_s instead. To disable deprecation, use _CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS. See online help for details.
        C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\string.h(105) : see declaration of 'strcpy'
windres.exe  -J rc -O coff -i resource.rc -o obj\Release\resource.res
Execution of 'windres.exe  -J rc -O coff -i resource.rc -o obj\Release\resource.res' in 'f:\miner' failed.

im going to sleep. good night bro  :(
im successfully compile the resource but without windres there is a tool called reswizard
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 06:21:05 pm by bobsadino »