Author Topic: Problem with FLTK wizard  (Read 215 times)

Offline ncassetta

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Problem with FLTK wizard
« on: November 11, 2017, 11:49:35 am »
I am trying to use CodeBlocks with FLTK library. The wizard ask me to specify the folder where FLTK is unpacked, saying "this folder must contain the subfolders "include" and "lib"". But FLTK doesn't have an "include" directory, it has "Fl" instead for header files. So the wizard says me he can't locate the include directory and stops.
I tried also to edit the #fl global variable, with Settings=>Global variables, setting ...\fltk-1.3.3 as base directory and ...\fltk-1.3.3\Fl as include, but this also fails, saying "The path you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't locate the file Fl.H in it." Obviously I checked it and the file is there.
Thanks for your attention
N. Cassetta

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10356
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017, 04:37:18 pm »
I guess the wizard is made for different version of the library. You have to either create the project from scratch or modify the wizard to work with the current version and provide a patch. The wizards are simple squirrel scripts, so it should be an easy task to adjust it. To see the script right click -> edit script in the wizard dialog.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ncassetta

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 01:43:16 pm »
I have no experience with squirrel, but I think I've understood what happens.
The structure of FLTK dir is this (for every Windows version):

fltk-1.3.3                    -> base dir
    FL                           -> include dir
        Fl.H                     -> header files
        . . .

The wizard, instead, thinks this:

fltk-1.3.3
    include
        FL
            Fl.H                   -> header files
        . . .

so it verifies if the base.include/FL dir contains the Fl.H file and fails. A comment in the script says that this only applies to Windows.
I have found a workaround setting for the global variable fl:
base dir -> fltk-1.3.3
include dir -> fltk-1.3.3 (the same, so it searches in fltk-1.3.3/FL)
and it works, but I think this is rather confusing.
I am not able to correct the code, but probably the person who made the script could revise it in few minutes

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5969
    • My Best Post
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2017, 09:31:43 pm »
The problem likely is for some windows Compilers the script works correctly.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10356
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2017, 09:32:48 pm »
Most of the wizards are user contributions, so I doubt anyone will do it.
Why do you think you cannot modify the code?
If you're able to read it then you should be able to modify it. :)
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10356
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2017, 09:33:19 pm »
The problem likely is for some windows Compilers the script works correctly.
What do you mean by this? The wizards most of the time doesn't care for the used compiler.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5969
    • My Best Post
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2017, 10:17:25 pm »
The problem likely is for some windows Compilers the script works correctly.
What do you mean by this? The wizards most of the time doesn't care for the used compiler.

Have you not noticed that the path for including headers are different for MS Compilers and GCC Compilers.
I have tried many times to fix the SDL Wizard and finally gave up.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10356
Re: Problem with FLTK wizard
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 01:13:49 am »
No, I've not looked at the wizard.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]