Author Topic: [solved]Trying to compile codeblocks  (Read 697 times)

Offline visir

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 65
[solved]Trying to compile codeblocks
« on: July 22, 2017, 10:16:34 pm »
Tried to compile codeblocks, looks like I should compile wxWidgets too.

When I tried to compile it, I got those errors during linking:

.objs\sdk\newfromtemplatedlg.o:newfromtemplatedlg.cpp:(.text+0x1785): undefined reference to `_imp___ZN10wxListCtrl9SortItemsEPU7stdcallFilllEl'

.objs\sdk\pluginsconfigurationdlg.o:pluginsconfigurationdlg.cpp:(.text+0xabe): undefined reference to `_imp___ZN10wxListCtrl9SortItemsEPU7stdcallFilllEl'

Googling `_imp___ZN10wxListCtrl9SortItemsEPU7stdcallFilllEl' showed this:

https://github.com/Alexpux/MINGW-packages/issues/1688
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 01:23:57 pm by visir »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10398
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 10:45:13 pm »
Yes, you should and make sure you use the same compiler.
There is a wiki page that describes the process of compiling c::b.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline visir

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2017, 11:03:34 pm »
This one? http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/FAQ-Compiling_(general)

Downloaded wxMSW 2.8.12 installer from https://www.wxwidgets.org/downloads/, no makefile.gcc inside.

I mean, docs here http://www.codeblocks.org/downloads/source and here http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/FAQ-Compiling_(general) should be updated (since they mention makefile.gcc), precompiled wxMSW from here http://www.codeblocks.org/downloads/source should be updated with recompiled one (if problem really is in that), and probably it's time to move to wxWidget 3.0.3 or 3.1.0 anyway.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2017, 11:20:37 pm by visir »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5988
    • My Best Post
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 12:08:40 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Murawavhu

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2017, 10:17:18 am »
When I create a project it gives me an error. I have tried fixing the error using some methods here, I even reinstalled codeblocks a few times.

The error says "COULDN'T CREATE THE PROJECT DIRECTORY

Offline visir

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2017, 10:24:56 am »
@Murawavhu
Please create your own thread, and please post a screenshot.

By the way, it compiled for me. Have no idea how to debug it yet, I'll surf wiki for now.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5988
    • My Best Post
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2017, 10:26:44 am »
When I create a project it gives me an error. I have tried fixing the error using some methods here, I even reinstalled codeblocks a few times.

The error says "COULDN'T CREATE THE PROJECT DIRECTORY

Do NOT high jack other people threads!

Do NOT use spaces or non ASCII letter in path.

Do use path you have write permissions on it.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline visir

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2017, 12:57:36 pm »
Compiled version (r11114) doesn't show some images (like icon near "Workspace" word). When I'm running r11114 from r11112, it also shows a lot of "Couldn't add an image to the image list".

Screenshot:



Googling this error showed this https://wiki.wxwidgets.org/WxImageList , don't know what to do with this though.

Tried to copy everything from src/output to src/devel, nothing changed.

Maybe it's because I added -D_WIN32_IE=0x0603 option (while compiling wxWidgets) only after I received error, and didn't clean-rebuild afterwards. Should I rebuild again?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5988
    • My Best Post
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2017, 01:01:24 pm »
Did you run the build scripts/batch files?

update or update.bat for windows if wx2.8.12.

Edit: Added quote from the directions!
Quote
Generate Production Output

Run update.bat (located in the src directory). This will pack the resource files and copy the executables, libraries, and plugins to the output directory. It will also create the output directory if it does not exist.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 01:04:20 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5988
    • My Best Post
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2017, 01:11:18 pm »
Maybe it's because I added -D_WIN32_IE=0x0603 option (while compiling wxWidgets) only after I received error, and didn't clean-rebuild afterwards. Should I rebuild again?

Adding the -D_WIN32_IE=0x0603 option should NOT normally require a rebuild of wxWidgets.
And, your problem is over 90% likely because you failed to run the update batch file or ran the wrong update batch file.
If you still have the problem post the wxWidgets version you built; version?

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline visir

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Trying to compile codeblocks
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2017, 01:23:32 pm »
Yeah, after running update.bat everything works fine.

Thought this bat only needed for release version, turns out it also packs images into zip files and copies things around.

Thanks, sorry for troubling.