Author Topic: [SOLVED]Problem with CB GUI  (Read 891 times)

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
[SOLVED]Problem with CB GUI
« on: April 20, 2017, 01:19:43 am »
Hello,
i have this problem that after a short time (few minutes) of starting CB its GUI goes crazy. CB doesnt crash, but is then unusable because the GUI doesnt get updated anymore. At least some parts like the line where the open file names are listed.

In my example i fiddled around a bit and i was able to reproduce this issue consistently by
1. close all files of project
2. restart CB, load the last project (no files yet opened)
3. simply open a header file first

The effect can be seen in the pic below: No file name at the top of open file, gui not responding properly to any resizing (see "Log & others" window, tried to resize it)
I can still close CB, save all files and restart.

Using ubuntu 17.04 fresh install and XFCE Desktop


 


many greetings,
SRM
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 06:03:35 pm by srmeister »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10118
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 10:58:57 am »
Have you tried to disable the Symbol browser in Editor -> Code completion?
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 12:03:02 pm »
Can't find "symbol browser" but i disabled everything in Code Completion, see picture.
Also i tried to disable some plugins as you can see. Still the same result.
I tested around a bit more and i can say now that everything below the menu bar doesnt get any redrawing. So, the menu is normally usable, but nothing else.
This happens in this case after i open any .h header file.


 


 


 

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10118
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 01:54:07 pm »
What is the video driver you're using?
What video card do you have?
Are you using xorg, wayland or mir?
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 03:13:23 pm »
I have a Radeon HD 7850.
"lshw -c video" says "driver=radeon"
using x.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10118
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 03:51:17 pm »
Can you try to install the auidemo and see if it exhibits the same problem? Auidemo is part of wxgtk's examples, but I don't know if it is available as a package or it should be compiled manually.

Also do you have any compositor enabled?
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 03:58:31 pm »
iam using XFCE Desktop and it had Compositor enabled, but when i disabled it, the problem remained.

I will look into the AUI demo now.

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 05:08:26 pm »
well i played around for quite a while now with the AUI Demo from package wx3.0-examples and it behaves normally but the console i started it from shows warnings everytime i add a new control from View menu. Its always the same warning:
Code: [Select]
(auidemo:11699): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_widget_get_parent: assertion 'GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed
I think this might be related because when i open a .h file i essentialy create a control(i think) in the right "content pane" and this is when CB starts to go crazy.

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2017, 05:16:01 pm »
i just discovered, when i start CB from console by "codeblocks", and open a project, everytime i click any file from the "management pane" on the left, the console shows a similar message as in AUI Demo. The message is a bit different for each file i try to open.

Code: [Select]
(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)

here is the complete log from start of CB
Code: [Select]
srm@srm:~/aui/aui$ codeblocks
17:13:17: Warning: Mismatch between the program and library build versions detected.
The library used 3.0 (wchar_t,compiler with C++ ABI 1010,wx containers,compatible with 2.8),
and your program used 3.0 (wchar_t,compiler with C++ ABI 1009,wx containers,compatible with 2.8).
Starting Code::Blocks Release 16.01  rev 10692 2016-06-15, 06:57:50 - wx3.0.2 (Linux, unicode) - 64 bit
Initialize EditColourSet .....
Initialize EditColourSet: done.
Loading menubar...
CodeCompletion: loaded
Autosave: loaded
ScriptedWizard: loaded
AStylePlugin: loaded
Debugger: loaded
ProjectsImporter: loaded
FilesExtensionHandler: loaded
ClassWizard: loaded
Compiler: loaded
OpenFilesList: loaded
ToDoList: loaded
Autosave plugin activated
Debugger plugin activated
Files extension handler plugin activated
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler"
Added compiler "Intel C/C++ Compiler"
Added compiler "GDC D Compiler"
Added compiler "GNU Fortran Compiler"
Added compiler "G95 Fortran Compiler"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for ARM"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for ZPU"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for PowerPC (HighTec)"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for MSP430 (HighTec)"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for TriCore (HighTec)"
Added compiler "LLVM Clang Compiler"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for LM32"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for AVR"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for LM8"
Added compiler "Tiny C Compiler"
Added compiler "*No Compiler*"
Added compiler "LLVM D Compiler"
Added compiler "PGI Fortran Compiler"
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler for Blackfin"
Added compiler "Small Device C Compiler"
Added compiler "Digital Mars D Compiler"
Compiler plugin activated
Loading toolbar...
Initializing plugins...
Loading project file...
Parsing project file...
Loading target Debug
Loading target Release
Loading project files...
21 files loaded
Done loading project in 1ms
Project's base path: /home/srm/wavemon/
Project's common toplevel path: /home/srm/wavemon/
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/wavemon.h
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/nl80211.h
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/iw_nl80211.h
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/iw_if.h
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/llist.h
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
Project data set for /home/srm/wavemon/ieee80211.h
Top Editor: /home/srm/wavemon/ieee80211.h

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed

(codeblocks:11744): Gdk-CRITICAL **: IA__gdk_window_thaw_updates: assertion 'impl_window->update_freeze_count > 0' failed
Mozilla universal detection engine detected 'Pure *ASCII*'.
Final encoding detected: Unicode 8 bit (UTF-8) (ID: 43)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 05:17:40 pm by srmeister »

Offline srmeister

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2017, 05:42:43 pm »
after further looking into the problem i found Filezilla also has this problem, which itself is, according to their devs, a bug in ubuntu (they said that 3 years ago and its not fixed yet)
look here
there is a workaround and this fixes the problem for me.
Quote
gsettings set com.canonical.desktop.interface scrollbar-mode normal
I am happy to be able to use CB now :)

thanks

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10118
Re: Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2017, 05:47:18 pm »
I guess it is a good idea to report this to the ubuntu devs, so they can fix it. If this is indeed something they've caused or report to the party responsible with details what to do.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline kemde

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [SOLVED]Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2017, 12:13:43 pm »
Same problem on Debian 9 / xfce4 / codeblocks 16.01. It worked on Debian 8 before.

A key "scrollbar-mode" mentioned in the workaround does not exist under org.gnome.desktop.interface or org.xfce. .... so problem persists for me.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10118
Re: [SOLVED]Problem with CB GUI
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2017, 01:24:17 am »
What are the xfce4, gtk, wxgtk versions you're using? Is wxgtk built for gtk2 or gtk3?
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]