Author Topic: When saving a file after modifications, preserve creation date timestamp  (Read 4013 times)

Offline Butter-Swimming Butterfly

• Multiple posting newcomer
After I save a file I've just modified using Code::Blocks 16.01 or Nightly Build Nov 20, 2016 17:01:59 (on Windows), the file's creation date property is reset. Original creation dates can be extremely useful for reviewing progress!

----

When a document being used to overwrite another was opened using the same path as where it's writing upon (i.e. Not overwriting a file using 'Save file as...'), the creation date should not be reset.

----

I decided to have a look at Code::Block's source for my first time (I'm a noob). This looks like the first routine which needs to be changed to begin resolving the issue:

src\sdk\filemanager.cpp, FileManager::Save()
Code
bool FileManager::Save(const wxString& name, const wxString& data, wxFontEncoding encoding, bool bom)
{
    if (wxFileExists(name) == false)
    {
        wxFile f(name, wxFile::write_excl);
        return WriteWxStringToFile(f, data, encoding, bom);
    }
#if wxCHECK_VERSION(3, 0, 0)
    else if (wxFileName::Exists(name, wxFILE_EXISTS_SYMLINK))
    {
        // Enable editing symlinks. Do not use temp file->replace procedure
        // since that would get rid of the symlink. Writing directly causes
        // edits to reflect to the target file.
        wxFile f(name, wxFile::write);
        return WriteWxStringToFile(f, data, encoding, bom);
    }
#endif // wxCHECK_VERSION(3, 0, 0)
    else
    {
        if (!wxFile::Access(name, wxFile::write))
            return false;

wxString temp(name);
        temp.append(wxT(".temp"));

wxStructStat buff;
        wxLstat( name, &buff );

wxFile f;
        f.Create(temp, true, buff.st_mode);

if (WriteWxStringToFile(f, data, encoding, bom))
        {
            f.Close();
            if (platform::move(temp, name))
            {
                return true;
            }
            else