User forums > Using Code::Blocks

How to create a project through makefile in codeblocks

(1/1)

anandamu16:
I am new to codeblocks. I want to create my own project through makefile. How can I do so, any help?

My main purpose is to create a plugin. I look through the codeblocks svn code and check the plugin section. There i found that none of the plugins have any project (.cbp) file but only makefile.am. So I doubt that In codeblocks people use to develop plugins through makefile rather than using the codeblocks plugin wizard available within codeblocks.

BlueHazzard:
There are (multiple) project files for every plugin. But there are also Makefiles so codeblocks can be build without codeblocks

--- Quote ---So I doubt that In codeblocks people use to develop plugins through makefile rather than using the codeblocks plugin wizard available within codeblocks.
--- End quote ---
It is possible that the wizard is outdated or the project is not set up probably.

anandamu16:
Hi

--- Quote ---There are (multiple) project files for every plugin. But there are also Makefiles so codeblocks can be build without codeblocks

--- End quote ---

If you'll check the plugins directory "C:\zbcqcm\codeblocks_svn_code\code\src\plugins". None of the plugin has .cbp file corresponding to it. Only plugins available here "C:\zbcqcm\codeblocks_svn_code\code\src\plugins\contrib" have the cbp file. Why is it so?

Moreover If I guess that all core plugins are build up by makefile and contrib plugin is build by plugin wizard, Am I right?
Can you answer some of my queries?

- Debuggergdb is a core plugin or contrib plugin? as it doesn't contain any ,cbp file, i guess its a core plugin.
- From contrib plugin, if I open .cbp file and delete makefile, plugin project still execute fine, does it mean if I have .cbp, I don't need makefile?
- I want to start building a project from makefile, can you help me with any documentation?

BlueHazzard: