Author Topic: How to exclude unused functions  (Read 11570 times)

Offline joneewheelock

• Multiple posting newcomer
How to exclude unused functions
« on: November 19, 2016, 02:21:29 am »
I am using Code::Blocks with avr8-gnu-toolchain. Everything is smooth except that code size is not optimized even after I opted for optimize size. I am not an expert. So  in my final object file how to exclude the functions that are not called.
Secondly, I opted for generate list file. But CB is not generating that. Attached is the work space template.

Offline stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
Re: How to exclude unused functions
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2016, 07:30:22 am »
1. Please try to post your questions in the correct sub-forum [ in the future].
    Edit: Continue using this sub-forum for now with this question; the people on this site do NOT like multiple threads for same question.
2. Please read and follow this site rules http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,9996.0.html

If you know, the Compiler Option you need to add and needs help on how to add it; that is a valid question for this site.
If you have no idea what the compiler option is; that is NOT a valid question for this site.

Edit2: My guess is this line is wrong in your project file.
Code
-Wl,-Map=$(TARGET_OUTPUT_DIR)$(TARGET_OUTPUT_BASENAME).map,--cref

You might try this line instead.
Code
-Wl,-Map=$(TARGET_OUTPUT_DIR)$(TARGET_OUTPUT_BASENAME).map

But, I do NOT use your Compiler.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2016, 08:03:56 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2016, 01:50:40 pm »
Try these two options:
Code
-ffunction-sections
-fdata-sections

Read here for more info: https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/Optimize-Options.html