Author Topic: How to set the build output path for the final executable  (Read 3964 times)

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
How to set the build output path for the final executable
« on: August 23, 2016, 11:33:23 am »
Hello,

I know it is a basic question, but I don't get how to set the build output path for the final executable of some mingw-w64 project.
Where should I set it per build type (release/debug/...)?

Next, how could I set the extension?
I build a dll, but it must have "aip" and not "dll" extension.
When I change the extension, C::B seems to correct it to "dll".

Also, if I need to store the intermediary obj files on build type path (debug-x64, release-x64), how could I do this? Is there a setting?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 12:24:44 pm by msdobrescu »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6677
    • My Best Post
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2016, 05:05:12 pm »
Menu "Project" -> "Property"
Tab "Build Targets"
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 05:08:31 pm »
Hmm.
I have tried that already.
No effect.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6677
    • My Best Post
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2016, 05:14:00 pm »
Hmm.
I have tried that already.
No effect.

Did  you change the values?
If yes, what values?
Did you re-build the project?
If not, do so.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6677
    • My Best Post
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2016, 05:15:45 pm »
Make sure you at least uncheck "Auto-generate filename extension"!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2016, 07:51:26 pm »
Awesome!
It seems to be a bug.
I alter values, press save, build etc..
It uses old values.
I close C::B, it asks to save the project and perspective.
I say "yes".
I reopen C::B, works correctly, builds on my paths etc..
Idem for the other settings.
I use the "portable" version.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6677
    • My Best Post
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2016, 09:04:27 pm »
Awesome!
It seems to be a bug.
I alter values, press save, build etc..
It uses old values.
I close C::B, it asks to save the project and perspective.
I say "yes".
I reopen C::B, works correctly, builds on my paths etc..
Idem for the other settings.
I use the "portable" version.

I for one will ignore this "bug"; since, you failed to do a rebuild instead of a build!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2016, 09:24:33 pm »
I don't really get what you mean. I did not fail anything. It fails to update the settings and re-build if necessary.
I shouldn't re-build explicitly, it should update the build accordingly.

You could ignore a bug, but it won't ignore you...

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6677
    • My Best Post
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2016, 09:29:31 pm »
I don't really get what you mean. I did not fail anything. It fails to update the settings and re-build if necessary.
I shouldn't re-build explicitly, it should update the build accordingly.

You could ignore a bug, but it won't ignore you...

You are now on my list of people that I will try to ignore!!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2016, 10:01:59 pm »
Don't try! Do it! Please.

Offline frithjofh

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 373
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2016, 01:22:51 am »
not necesary to try...

when it is built already, changing the settings wont automagically trigger a rebuild when you hit the build button... it will just do nothing, because it is already built.

if you want a new built with new settings, then hit the rebuild button.

imho if or if not a change of settings should automatically trigger a rebuild implies way too much complexity in the overall process. better leave that as is
architect with some spare time  -  c::b compiled from last svn  -   openSuSE leap x86_64  -  AMD FX-4100

Offline msdobrescu

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2016, 10:03:01 am »
No, I say something else.
I change the settings > build (when I say "build" means I press one of them and it starts building, consider pressing the right button from your point of view, e.g. rebuild button) > it builds (e.g. re-builds as you name it). But it doesn't use the new settings until I close C::B and it asks to save the project and I re-open C::B again.

Offline raynebc

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 212
Re: How to set the build output path for the final executable
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2016, 06:41:47 pm »
When I change my project's target executable name and hit build, it creates the new executable without having to re-open the IDE or rebuilding the entire project.  This is working as intended.  Why don't you list all the build options you've changed?  It's likely that some of them require a rebuild of the project to take effect, and that would almost certainly be by design.