Author Topic: CB and Arduino 1.6.x  (Read 8722 times)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #45 on: June 29, 2016, 09:26:32 pm »
In doing my solution I had to edit an header search path in the Wizard created project
from "$(ARDUINO_DIR)/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/HID/src"
to "$(ARDUINO_DIR)/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/HID"

What version of Arduino do you have?

p.s. the new readme has info about the global variable.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline AZ

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 111
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #46 on: June 30, 2016, 05:46:17 am »
>ln -s ~/devel/open_source_code/version_control/arduino_ide-git/build/linux/work ~/.codeblocks/arduino
you created a link to the arduino's IDE as opposite to the wizard?

// I'm just trying to make sense of the differences and what i maybe doing wrong. Looks like Teodor got the wizard to work and it is me struggling with fat fingers here.
CB: latest available from Jen's RPM repo for Fedora
Thread model: posix
gcc version 5.1.1 20150618 (Red Hat 5.1.1-4) (GCC)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #47 on: June 30, 2016, 09:35:42 am »
>ln -s ~/devel/open_source_code/version_control/arduino_ide-git/build/linux/work ~/.codeblocks/arduino
you created a link to the arduino's IDE as opposite to the wizard?
This command is no longer needed. Just point the arduino global variable to point to your arduino installation's root. (Settings -> Global variable -> arduino -> set base).
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline AZ

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 111
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #48 on: June 30, 2016, 02:37:56 pm »
>ln -s ~/devel/open_source_code/version_control/arduino_ide-git/build/linux/work ~/.codeblocks/arduino
you created a link to the arduino's IDE as opposite to the wizard?
This command is no longer needed. Just point the arduino global variable to point to your arduino installation's root. (Settings -> Global variable -> arduino -> set base).

right, that is what i was doing. Any idea why i'm getting that dilalog created few dozen times?
CB: latest available from Jen's RPM repo for Fedora
Thread model: posix
gcc version 5.1.1 20150618 (Red Hat 5.1.1-4) (GCC)

Offline AZ

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 111
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #49 on: June 30, 2016, 07:09:51 pm »
aha! i think i might be onto something.

I'm not getting "global dialog" nightmare anymore - what did i do?

1. Update to the latest codeblocks.x86_64 16.01.svn.10869-1.fc22
2. instead of setting global variable to the "the path to the root of the Arduino project." (https://github.com/obfuscated/cb_arduino_template) , i set it to the arduino install directory. In my case it is  ~/bin/arduino-1.6.9/.

I was able to build a few elementary projects. I'll do more testing today just to be sure.

The "XRC" error is still present when create a new arduino project.
CB: latest available from Jen's RPM repo for Fedora
Thread model: posix
gcc version 5.1.1 20150618 (Red Hat 5.1.1-4) (GCC)

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5780
    • My Best Post
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #50 on: July 01, 2016, 05:35:52 pm »
In doing my solution I had to edit an header search path in the Wizard created project
from "$(ARDUINO_DIR)/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/HID/src"
to "$(ARDUINO_DIR)/hardware/arduino/avr/libraries/HID"

What version of Arduino do you have?

p.s. the new readme has info about the global variable.


self built 1.6.8 from git repo branch ide-1.5.x.

Edit: https://github.com/arduino/Arduino.git

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #51 on: July 01, 2016, 10:13:34 pm »
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5780
    • My Best Post
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #52 on: July 02, 2016, 03:33:29 pm »
Try this one: https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/releases/tag/1.6.9

Did NOT have to edit the include path with that one.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #53 on: July 04, 2016, 01:54:34 am »
The "XRC" error is still present when create a new arduino project.
It seems like a bug in wx2.8, but as far as I see this is just a message box and the wizard works just fine.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline AZ

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 111
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #54 on: July 04, 2016, 06:40:09 pm »
The "XRC" error is still present when create a new arduino project.
It seems like a bug in wx2.8, but as far as I see this is just a message box and the wizard works just fine.
Yes.  Great job.
I created a pull request to update the doc. Hope you find it useful.
CB: latest available from Jen's RPM repo for Fedora
Thread model: posix
gcc version 5.1.1 20150618 (Red Hat 5.1.1-4) (GCC)

Offline DanRR

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #55 on: July 12, 2016, 08:44:19 am »
Hi,
I've install cb_arduino_template, created a test project and compiled it with no errors. When I attempted uploading it (I pressed 'Run', is that the way to do it?) I got a terminal window with the following error:
Code: [Select]
/home/.../cb_arduino_wizard_test/bin/uno/cb_arduino_wizard_test.elf: 1: /home/.../cb_arduino_wizard_test/bin/uno/cb_arduino_wizard_test.elf: Syntax error: "(" unexpected
System info:
Xubuntu 16.04
CB 16.01
Arduino 1.6.9

Thanks

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #56 on: July 12, 2016, 09:03:00 am »
No, uploading happens as post-build step.
Do you have the UPLOAD_PORT variable set?
And keep in mind that uploading is not very reliable on atmega32u4 based arduinos.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline DanRR

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #57 on: July 15, 2016, 02:45:53 am »
Thanks oBFusCATed,
I've tried setting UPLOAD_PORT and rebuild with no change, I can't see any upload attempt.
I'm using Uno board.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 5780
    • My Best Post
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #58 on: July 15, 2016, 03:23:32 am »
Thanks oBFusCATed,
I've tried setting UPLOAD_PORT and rebuild with no change, I can't see any upload attempt.
I'm using Uno board.

Do you have "avrdude" installed?
If not, try installing it.

Tim S.


C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Testing, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.2.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9949
Re: CB and Arduino 1.6.x
« Reply #59 on: July 15, 2016, 07:55:43 am »
Thanks oBFusCATed,
I've tried setting UPLOAD_PORT and rebuild with no change, I can't see any upload attempt.
I'm using Uno board.
You have to rebuild and make sure the arduino is connected to the usb.
Can you please post a full rebuild log?
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]